Subject and Course Guides: Food Science & Technology Research Guide: Journal Articles & More

Online Indexes, Digital Collections & Grey Literature

Listed below, in alphabetical order, are indexes through which you can discover and access information relevant to food science and technology. In some cases, full-text content is available in the index (look for links to HTML content and/or a PDF); for others, check on full-text availability by choosing the Find This for Me button.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals; food science and technology topics included
BIOSIS Citation Index, 1926- (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical articles, reviews, and reports covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes journals, meetings, patents, and books. (Index)
CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health, 1910- (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, human health, food and nutrition, & microbiology
MEDLINE, 1950- (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in medicine and the life sciences. (Index)
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Produced by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). (Index)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patent records covering the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. (Index)
Web of Science Core Collection, 1900- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. Includes the following databases: Science Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Book Citation Index – Science; Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Current Chemical Reactions; Index Chemicus. (Index)

Google Scholar with UNL Libraries' Link
Google Scholar is a search engine that points you to scholarly literature; it is particularly good at discovering publications that are freely-accessible online. For best results, use Google Scholar as one of several tools in your literature search - combine Google Scholar searches with those in relevant online indexes found at the "Online Indexes" tab.
more...less...
Google Scholar can alert you to materials available from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries. Choose the Google Scholar link above, or the button found on the Libraries' E-Resources page. Look for "Find This @ UNL" in your results to link to materials provided by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries.

Titles listed in alphabetical order

Digital Commons @University of Nebraska - Lincoln This link opens in a new window
A public, full-text repository of UNL research, scholarship, and creative activity. Includes dissertations & theses, faculty publications, and more. (Full-Text)
Dissertations and Theses (includes Dissertation Abstracts International) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from United States and international institutions. Access full text through interlibrary loan; some dissertations are also available free online. (Index)
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of digitized books, journals, and manuscripts from libraries around the world. (Full-Text)
ScienceDirect Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General entry point to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries. Covers life sciences, physical sciences, medicine, technology, social sciences and humanities. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General entry point to Springer publications - journals and books in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General entry point to Wiley publications - journals and ebooks in the life sciences, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.

AACC International Approved Methods of Analysis (11th ed.)
- This link opens in a new window
More than 325 methods of analysis in grain science, internationally accepted and continuously updated
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 20,000 step-by-step techniques, procedures, and practical overviews that provide researchers with reliable, efficient methods to ensure reproducible results
Methods of Analysis - American Society of Brewing Chemists, 14th ed. (2011)
- This link opens in a new window
Methods in Enzymology (1955 - )
- This link opens in a new window
Long-time laboratory standard

Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of step-by-step laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences, collected from Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, Methods in Molecular Biology, and other sources. Protocols are written and reviewed by experts in the field. (Full-Text)

FoodData Central
An integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research. Sponsored by USDA, Agricultural Research Service

The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature (October 1999) defined grey literature as "[t]hat which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." The links below point to selected authoritative resources.

Codex Alimentarius
International food standards and regulations developed by the World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization
US Food & Drug Administration (FDA) - Food
Current information, recalls, regulation and enforcement
USDA Agricultural Research Service
Search for a research project
USDA Current Research Information System (CRIS)
Provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the USDA
USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service
Protecting the public’s health by ensuring the safety of meat, poultry, and processed egg products
USDA Food Safety Research Information Office
Supporting the research community by collecting, organizing & disseminating food safety information; research projects database provided by the National Agricultural Library