Subject and Course Guides: CONST ENGR Canvas: Home

Get Help From Your Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNL Libraries is here to support your research and learning needs - please contact me for help.

Subjects: Biochemistry & Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Forensic Science, Natural Resources, Physics & Astronomy

Citations and Style Guides

ZoteroBib
If you need a quick and easy way to create a few citations, use this instead of the full Zotero software.
Zotero
A free citation management tool for storing, organizing, and citing your research.
More about citation management tools
UNL Libraries supports many citation management tools. Contact us with questions.

Full Research Guide

Construction Management Research Guide
There are many more resources than shown here. See the full research guide for more research tools and resources, find strategies on conducting literature reviews, and more.

UNL Libraries Essential Information

Access Library Resources from Off-Campus
Most library subscription materials and other resources are available online! Login with your Single Sign-On (also known as your My.UNL or Canvas login).
Get Help from ASKus & FAQ's
Have questions about the Libraries? Need help with renewal? Can't access a resource? Call, chat, or email ASKus, or search our FAQ's for quick help

Databases (Articles, proceedings papers, abstracts etc.)

IEEE Xplore
Journal articles, proceedings, and standards on the topics of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Scopus
Index to scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patent records covering the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. (Index)

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by Wiley-VCH (Editor)
ISBN: 9783527306732
Publication Date: 2003-03-11
Ullmann's has 800+ articles, over 15,000 tables and 25,000 figures, literature and patent references to primary literature, and cross-references.

Web of Science Core Collection, 1900-
Indexes to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. Includes the following databases: Science Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Book Citation Index – Science; Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Current Chemical Reactions; Index Chemicus. (Index)
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library
Engineering journals, manuals, technical papers, conference proceedings, and more, published by ASTM. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on the ASTM Compass platform.
Annual Reviews
Scholarly journal articles and authoritative critical reviews of the primary research literature, focusing on the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. (Full-Text)
arXiv
Journal article preprints covering physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. (Full-Text)
ASABE Technical Library (American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers)
Engineering resources for agriculture, food, and biological systems. Includes technical papers, journal articles, textbooks, reference books, and standards. (Full-Text)
ASCE Library
Journals, books, standards, and conference proceedings relating to civil engineering. (Full-Text)
ASTM Standards for PPE
ASTM standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment - including face masks, medical gowns, gloves, and hand sanitizers.
BioMed Central
Journals covering science, technology, engineering, and medicine. (Full-Text)

CAS Common Chemistry
"CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes."

Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
Comprehensive repository of small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures, with tools for searching and analysis. (Software)

CRC Press Physical Sciences (An imprint of Taylor and Francis)
*Note the default view shows all CRC Press ebooks, whether or not University of Nebraska-Lincoln has access. Click the "Content I have access to" box on the left side of the page to limit to what University of Nebraska-Lincoln owns. If you want access to an ebook not owned by University of Nebraska-Lincoln please let your librarian know so that they can order it for you.

Derwent Innovations Index, 1966- (Web of Science)
Index to patent information from Derwent World Patents Index and Patents Citation Index for inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering, from 1963-present. (Index)
Institute of Physics
Journals in physics, mathematics, and engineering. (Full-Text)
JSTOR
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)
Journal articles and reviews in mathematics and related sciences, 1940-present. Also provides gateway to Current Index to Statistics (Index).
PapersFirst
Papers presented at conferences, symposia, expositions, workshops, and meetings worldwide. (Index)
ProceedingsFirst
Conferences, symposia, expositions, workshops, and meetings worldwide. Each entry lists the authors and titles of papers presented at the conference. To search the individual papers presented at conferences, use PapersFirst.
O'Reilly Online Learning
Ebooks and manuals on various subjects, with an emphasis on information technology, mathematics, and career development. (Full-Text)
SAE Technical Papers
All SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to present. Includes Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); Aerospace Standards; and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS).
SciFinder-n
Access requires creation of a personal account using a UNL email address.
Database of substances, reactions, and references in chemistry and related sciences. Incorporates the PatentPak database of patents.
SESTAT
Note: The availability and content of resources hosted or produced by the U.S. federal government may be affected by changes in government management and funding.
Longitudinal information on the education and employment of the college-educated U.S. science and engineering workforce. These data are collected through biennial surveys. (Full-Text)
SIAM Journals
General entry point to SIAM journals. Covers science, mathematics, and technology. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Transport Research International Documentation
Books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. (Index)

All UNL Libraries Engineering Databases
A list of engineering-related databases, for which access is offered by the UNL Libraries.

Quick Links

Ask UNL Libraries

Additional Resources

Dissertations and Theses (includes Dissertation Abstracts International)
Dissertations and theses from United States and international institutions. Access full text through interlibrary loan; some dissertations are also available free online. (Index)

Patents and Trademarks
Learn how to search for patents and trademarks in Google and in the U.S. Patent Office online database.
Technical Reports
Technical reports describe the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research and may include in-depth experimental details, data, and results.