Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SciENcv - Create Your NIH or NSF Biosketch: Your NSF Biosketch

As of 1 June 2020, SciENcv is the required system for creation of NSF and NIH biosketches.

Creating Your NSF Biosketch

The NSF biographical sketch consists of four sections:

  • Professional Preparation
  • Appointments
  • Products
  • Synergistic Activities

Professional Preparation

Under Professional Preparation, enter your undergraduate and graduate education and postdoctoral training in chronological order.

Select a radio button for either an academic degree or a training entry. Each selection provides a different set of choices.

Click Save. For multiple entries, click Save & add another entry.

To edit or delete an entry, click Edit entries and click either Delete or edit next to the selected degree or training entry. Once you have finished editing, adding, or deleting information, click Done to save your updates.

In SciENcv there is an option to hide entries. If you want to print or share your profile, but only want selective content to be displayed, uncheck the checkbox next to the entry you would like to hide and click Done.

Appointments

In the Appointments section, list your academic and professional appointments in reverse chronological order. Appointments include any titled academic, professional, or institutional position whether or not remuneration is received, and whether full-time, part-time, or voluntary (including adjunct, visiting, or honorary).

Enter your present and past employment. For multiple entries, click Save & add another entry.

To edit or delete an entry, click Edit entries and click either Delete or edit next to the selected entry. Once you have finished editing, adding, or deleting information, click Done to save your updates.

In SciENcv there is an option to hide entries. If you want to print or share your profile, but only want selective content to be displayed, uncheck the checkbox next to the entry you would like to hide and click Done.

Products

The Products section of the NSF biographical sketch displays citable and accessible publications, data sets, software, patents, and copyrights. This section uses My Bibliography to manage product information, and it consists of two parts:

Products most closely related to the proposed project (A), where you may add up to five products that are most closely related to the proposed project, and

Other significant products (B), where you may add up to five other significant products, whether or not related to the proposed project.

Click Select citations to add products from your My Bibliography collection, or if not found there, to add citations for your products (see Creating a bibliography). In My Bibliography, the default setting for the Sort by drop-down menu is to list citations by date (newest to oldest). Citations can also be sorted by publication date, update date, author (first listed authors in alphabetical order), or title (alphabetically). An ORCID option is available, which you can use to retrieve citations stored in your ORCID record (C).

Example of NSF biosketch interface with labeled areas. C is the ORCID tab, D is Add Citations, and E is Go to My Bibliography.

If you find that your My Bibliography collection is not up to date and new PubMed citations need to be added, click Add citations (see D above) and enter an author full name, or last name and initials in the search box.

Select the citations you wish to add from the list of retrieved citations and click Add to My Bibliography. The newly added citations will immediately display in the My Bibliography tab. For publications that are not included in PubMed, use the options to add citations using a file, or to add citations manually using My Bibliography templates, click Go to My Bibliography (see E above).

Note:

  • If you linked your ORCID account to My NCBI, your SciENcv biosketches will have the publications listed in your ORCID record under the ORCID tab.
  • Citations under the My Bibliography tab can only be deleted in My Bibliography. See Deleting Citations
  • Citations under the ORCID tab can only be deleted if they are deleted in your ORCID record.

Synergistic Activities

In the Synergistic Activities section of the NSF biographical sketch, list up to five distinct examples that demonstrate the broader impact of the individual’s professional and scholarly activities that focus on the integration and transfer of knowledge as well as its creation.

Enter each activity in the Add/Edit Synergistic activity window.

To reorganize the order of your listed synergistic activities, or to delete or edit an entry, hover your mouse next to the selected entry and click Move up, Move down, Delete, or Edit.

SciENcv biographical sketches can be downloaded in three formats: PDF, MS Word, and XML.

To download a SciENcv biosketch:

Sign in to My NCBI. Go to the SciENcv portlet and select the biosketch that you wish to download.

Click the hyperlink of the format you wish to download.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com