Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SciENcv - Create Your NIH or NSF Biosketch: Your NIH Biosketch

As of 1 June 2020, SciENcv is the required system for creation of NSF and NIH biosketches.

Creating Your NIH Biosketch

The NIH biographical sketch consists of the following sections:

  • Education and Training
  • Personal Statement
  • Work Experience, Professional Memberships, and Honors
  • Contribution to Science
  • Research Support/Scholastic Performance

Education and Training

Under the section titled Education/Training, click the link Add one. Add your academic degree(s) and training, from oldest to most recently acquired.

Select a radio button for either an academic degree or a training entry. Each selection provides a different set of choices.

Click Save. For multiple entries, click Save & add another entry.

To edit or delete an entry, click Edit entries and click either Delete or edit next to the selected degree or training entry. Once you have finished editing, adding, or deleting information, click Done to save your updates.

In SciENcv there is an option to hide entries. If you want to print or share your profile, but only want selective content to be displayed, uncheck the checkbox next to the entry you would like to hide, and click Done.

Personal Statement

In the Personal Statement section, enter a brief personal statement and up to four publications that highlight your work experience and qualifications. To start, click Edit Statement.

Enter your personal statement and click Check mark icon to save your narrative. SciENcv uses markdown syntax which allows you to add simple formatting to your personal statement – for formatting help click the Question mark icon icon

Citations stored in My Bibliography can be uploaded initially by clicking the link Select citations. Select up to four citations to be displayed in this section.

In My Bibliography, the default setting for the Sort by drop-down menu is to list citations by date (newest to oldest). Citations can also be sorted by publication date, update date, author (first listed authors in alphabetical order), or title (alphabetically). An ORCiD option is available, which you can use to retrieve citations stored in your ORCiD record (C).

Example of NIH biosketch interface with labeled areas. C is the ORCID tab, D is Add Citations, and E is Go to My Bibliography.

If you find that your My Bibliography collection is not up to date and new PubMed citations need to be added, click Add citations (see D above) and enter an author full name, or last name and initials in the search box.

Select the citations you wish to add from the list of retrieved citations and click Add to My Bibliography. The newly added citations will immediately display in the My Bibliography tab. For publications that are not included in PubMed, use the options to add citations using a file, or to add citations manually using My Bibliography templates, click Go to My Bibliography (see E above).

Note:

  • If you linked your eRA Commons, NSF, or ORCID account to My NCBI, your SciENcv biosketches will have the biographical information available in those accounts.
  • If you linked your ORCID account to My NCBI, your SciENcv biosketches will have the publications listed in your ORCID record under the ORCID tab.
  • Citations under the ‘My Bibliography’ tab can only be deleted in My Bibliography. See Deleting Citations
  • Citations under the ‘ORCID’ tab can only be deleted if they are deleted in your ORCID record

Work Experience, Professional Memberships and Honors

The section titled Positions and Honors consists of three parts: employment, other experience and professional memberships, and honors. If you linked your eRA Commons, NSF, or ORCID account to My NCBI, the work experience section of SciENcv will be automatically populated for you.

Under the subtitle Positions and Employment, click add one. Enter your past and present employment. For multiple entries, click Save & add another entry.

Under the subtitle Other Experience and Professional Memberships, click add one. Enter other work experience and professional memberships.

Under the subtitle Honors, click add one. Enter honor society memberships, honorary titles and other honorary awards.

To edit or delete an entry, click Edit entries and click either delete or edit next to the selected work experience, professional membership, or honor entry. Once you have finished editing, adding, or deleting information, click Done to save your updates.

Example of NIH biosketch Contribution to Science interface with labeled areas. A is Edit and B is Select Citations.

In SciENcv there is an option to hide entries. If you want to print or share your profile, but only want selective content to be displayed, uncheck the checkbox next to the entry you would like to hide and click Done.

Contribution to Science

The Contribution to Science section aims to give researchers a place where they can describe five of their most significant contributions to science. Each contribution entry has two parts: a description and relevant references of up to four peer-reviewed publications.

To enter a description, click edit (A). According to NIH guidelines, each description should include: the historical background that frames the scientific problem; the central findings; the influence of the findings on the progress of science or the application of those findings to health or technology; and your specific role.

To add relevant citations from My Bibliography for each contribution, click Select citations (B). Select up to four citations to be displayed.

Example of NIH biosketch Contribution to Science interface with labeled areas. F is Add Another Contribution and G is Include Link to Complete List of Published Work.

The default setting for the Sort by drop-down menu is to list citations by date (newest to oldest). Citations can also be sorted by publication date, update date, author (first listed authors in alphabetical order), or title (alphabetically). An ORCiD option is available, which you can use to retrieve citations stored in your ORCiD record (C).

Example of NIH biosketch interface with labeled areas. C is the ORCID tab, D is Add Citations, and E is Go to My Bibliography.

If you find that your My Bibliography collection is not up to date and new PubMed citations need to be added, click Add citations (see D above) and enter an author full name, or last name and initials in the search box.

Select the citations you wish to add from the list of retrieved citations and click Add to My Bibliography. The newly added citations will immediately display in the My Bibliography tab. For publications that are not included in PubMed, use the options to add citations using a file, or to add citations manually using My Bibliography templates, click Go to My Bibliography (see E above).

You can create up to five tabs by clicking Add another contribution (F), and the display order can be changed by dragging and dropping each tab. Contribution tabs can be removed by clicking Delete this contribution. To save edits, click Done.


There is also an option to include a URL to your My Bibliography collection of published research (G). Selecting this option would make your My Bibliography collection public.

Note:

  • This section uses My Bibliography to manage citation data in SciENcv. Therefore, if you have publications stored in My Bibliography, those will be automatically uploaded to your SciENcv profile.
  • If you linked your ORCID account to My NCBI, your SciENcv profiles will have the publications listed in your ORCID record under the ORCID tab.
  • Citations under the My Bibliography tab can only be deleted in My Bibliography. See Deleting Citations
  • Citations under the ORCID tab can only be deleted if they are deleted in your ORCID record

Research Support/Scholastic Performance

The Research Support/Scholastic Performance section displays a list of your ongoing and completed research awards. NIH and HRA grantees who have linked their eRA/HRA accounts to My NCBI will have their SciENcv profile automatically populated with their research awards. If you linked your ORCID account to My NCBI, your SciENcv profiles will have the research awards included in your ORCID record. The research awards information retrieved from ORCID appear under the ORCID tab.

Additionally, you have the option to add awards manually if your research awards were issued by other agencies or institutions. Click Edit awards. Select the User tab. Click Add another award. Enter your ongoing and completed research awards. Be sure to select the appropriate category in the Your Role drop-down menu.

 

For multiple entries, click Save & add another entry.

In SciENcv, you can selectively hide the research awards that you wish to omit from displaying in your profile. To hide awards. Click Edit Awards. Research awards are organized in four tabs: eRA, HRA, ORCID, and User. The HRA and ORCID tabs appear only when award data is transferred from HRA or ORCID. The User tab stores manually added research award information.

Locate the awards you want to hide. Uncheck the awards you want to hide, and click Done.

 

The research award shown in gray above is hidden and consequently it will not be displayed when a SciENCV biosketch is shared through a URL or printed.

Note:

  • Only research awards in the User tab can be modified or deleted in SciENcv
  • Go to My Bibliography to review the NIH or HRA awards associated with your publications. For an explanation, see Associating Funding to your Publications
  • Awards under the ORCID tab can only be edited/deleted in your ORCID record

SciENcv biographical sketches can be downloaded in three formats: PDF, MS Word, and XML.

To download a SciENcv biosketch:

Sign in to My NCBI. Go to the SciENcv section and select the biosketch that you wish to download.

Click the hyperlink of the format you wish to download.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com