Subject and Course Guides: Systematic Reviews: Intro to Systematic Reviews

Welcome to UNL Libraries LibGuide to Systematic Reviews!

This LibGuide is part of the Advanced Reviews series, and provides guidance and resources for conducting systematic reviews across disciplines.

What is a systematic review?

"Systematic reviews seek to collate evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to answer a specific research question. They aim to minimize bias by using explicit, systematic methods documented in advance with a protocol."

Cumpston M, Flemyng E, Thomas J, Higgins JPT, Deeks JJ, Clarke MJ. Chapter I: Introduction [last updated August 2023]. In: Higgins JPT, Thomas J, Chandler J, Cumpston M, Li T, Page MJ, Welch VA (editors). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.5. Cochrane, 2024. Available from training.cochrane.org/handbook.

Guidelines for conducting systematic reviews

Most common across disciplines

JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis
Aromataris E, Lockwood C, Porritt K, Pilla B, Jordan Z, editors. JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis. JBI; 2024. Available from: https://synthesismanual.jbi.global. https://doi.org/10.46658/JBIMES-24-01
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official document that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions.

Social Sciences

Campbell Collaboration
"The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice."
Disciplines: Business and Management, Crime and Justice, Disability, Education, International Development, Knowledge Translation and Implementation, Methods, Nutrition, and Social Welfare

Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by Petticrew, Mark
Call Number: H62 .P457 2006
Publication Date: 2005
The systematic literature review is different to the more traditional literature review which often uses selected pieces of evidence to explore or develop a theory, or assemble a strong argument.

Public Health

EPPI-Centre
The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) conducts systematic reviews in the fields of Education, Health Promotion and Public Health, as well as social welfare and international development.
Guidelines for Systematic Reviews of Health Promotion and Public Health Interventions
These guidelines were developed for the purpose of advising and supporting systematic reviews of health promotion and public health interventions within the Cochrane Collaboration.
NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
Guidance from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), a world renowned institute that produces policy relevant research and innovative methods that advance the use of research evidence to improve population health.
Schema for Evaluating Evidence on Public Health Interventions
Lucie Rychetnik and Michael Frommer of the University of Syndey. A guide to appraising evidence through the collection and evaluation of research papers and reports.

Health/Medicine

SYREAF - Systematic Reviews for Animals & Food
Repository for review protocols and systematic reviews in any area related to food, food production, food safety, animal health, and animal welfare. SYREAF also provides information about carrying out systematic reviews.
Institute of Medicine (IOM) Standards for Systematic Reviews
These IOM standards are for systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research of therapeutic medical or surgical interventions.
IFIS (International Food Information Service) guide to systematic review methodology
IFIS Good Review Practice guide: comprehensive best practice guide for systematic reviews in the sciences of food and health. Includes a link to download the PDF systematic review guide.
SYREAF - Systematic Reviews for Animals & Food
Resource for sharing protocols in veterinary science, agriculture, and food production

Environmental Sciences

The Collaboration for Environmental Evidence
The Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE) is an open community of scientists and managers working towards a sustainable global environment and the conservation of biodiversity. They provide guidelines and standards for evidence synthesis in environmental management.

Other guidelines

Search Guidelines by Specialty

Contributors

Contributors to this guide

Created by Elle Covington (they/them), Assistant Professor Research Specialist Librarian, and Gabe Bruguier, Assistant Professor Research Specialist Librarian, UNL Libraries, originally published 10/11/2024.

Our thanks to the librarians at the University of Pittsburgh and Cornell for allowing us to use and adapt information from their libguides.

Systematic Reviews

Request Advanced Reviews Support

Libraries Workshop Calendar

What is a systematic review?

Guidelines for conducting systematic reviews

Contributors

Contributors to this guide