Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Libraries' Virtual Learning Tutorials: Tutorials & How-to Videos

Interactive tutorials on library resources and information literacy concepts.

Virtual Learning Tutorials

Interactive tutorials providing step-by-step and how-to instruction on a variety of library research topics.

Quick Search Catalog Database Searching Introduction to Research Citing Sources Library Orientation Library Modules in Canvas

Questions about Tutorials?

Melissa Gomis

Melissa Gomis

Teaching & Learning Librarian

Email Me

Make An Appointment

Quick Search Catalog

""

Saving Results and Managing Your Library Account

This tutorial will guide you through the process of saving and managing your results in Quick Search and managing your library account.

Tutorial

""

Finding Articles & Books Using Quick Search

Learn the best way to access over 3,000,000 (that's million) books on the shelves and hundreds of online databases providing access to millions of electronic resources, such as journal articles, books, encyclopedias, data sets, images, and more.

Tutorial

""

Searching the Library Catalog by Topic

  • perform and modify a basic keyword search,
  • interpret an article record, and
  • locate the call number and availability of a book
Video (4:09)

""

Finding a Journal Article from a Citation

This video will show you how to find an article in the library catalog, using the citation.

Video (3:06)

""

Advanced Search

  • Personalize your Search Settings
  • Access and use Advanced Search
  • Get to Additional Research Tools and Help
Video (2:31)

Introduction to Research

""

Peer Review

A video and knowledge check about the peer review process.

Video (2:52)

""

Introduction to Scholarly Research

  • Distinguish between major types of publications.
  • Explain what constitutes an empirical study.
  • List the requirements of peer review.

Tutorial

""

Choosing a Research Topic

A video, knowledge check, and digital activity to help you through the process of choosing a research topic.

Video (3:49) Handout

""

Generating Keywords and Search Strategies

A tutorial on developing keywords for your research topic and developing a search strategy.

Tutorial Handout

""

Scholarly and Popular Sources

A video and handout about the differences between scholarly and popular sources and how to tell them apart.

Video (3:55) Handout

""

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

A video and knowledge check about evaluating sources.

Video (3:49) Handout

Searching Databases

""

Choosing Library Databases

A video, knowledge check, and digital activity to help you through the process of choosing a research topic.

Tutorial

""

Finding Articles Using Academic Search Premier

In this short tutorial, you will learn to:

  • Effectively search in a library database
  • Identify strategies for broadening and narrowing search results
  • Discover methods for saving and citing articles
Tutorial

""

Finding HathiTrust eBooks

HathiTrust is a digital library that provides access to millions of items either full-text or search only depending on copyright restrictions.

Tutorial

Citing Sources

""

Academic Integrity

  • Understand the importance of academic integrity
  • Understand what constitutes plagiarism
  • Find the resources you need to properly cite your sources
Tutorial

""

Citation Management Tools

  • Locate free citation generators and citation management tools
  • Determine when a citation management tool may be beneficial
  • Distinguish between the different citation management tools recommended by the University Libraries
  • Identify criteria to consider when selecting a citation management tool
Tutorial

Library Orientation

""

Using the Libraries

This tutorial will introduce you to resources and services available to help you succeed as a student, including how to:

  • Navigate the UNL Libraries website to find information, get help, and find up-to-date information on library hours, policies, and study rooms.
  • Identify one or more subject specialists and guide(s) in your area of study.
  • Discover resources from the Libraries for citing sources and preventing plagiarism.
Tutorial

Library Modules in Canvas

 

Each of the tutorials found in on this page can be customized for a specific course or program and/or imported into a Canvas course. Some of the tutorials are already available to add to your course through the Canvas Commons. The following modules are available and can easily be imported.

Using the Libraries

Many students have difficulty navigating the library resources, locating research help, and knowing what is available through the libraries. These tutorials are aimed at helping students navigate the UNL Libraries, explore resources, and set up and access important accounts.

  • UNL Libraries Creating and Using Library Accounts: Students will learn how to save search results and renew materials using their Library Account and create an Interlibrary Loan account, which they can use to request and renew materials from non NU libraries.
  • UNL Libraries Orientation: Students will learn how to locate key resources on the libraries website, contact a librarian for help, identify subject experts and resources, create an interlibrary loan account, and choose a library database.

 

Research Skills

These tutorials will help your students complete their research-based assignments, whether they're learning how to find books and articles or need to evaluate sources.

  • UNL Libraries Basic Research Skills: Students will learn basic search strategies; how to find  articles and books in QuickSearch; how to find HathiTrust e-books; and how to find articles using Academic Search Premier.
  • UNL Libraries Evaluating Sources: Students will learn about different types of sources they might use in a research paper and how to evaluate those sources for credibility.

 

Assignment Support

These resources are aimed at supporting  the skills students in addition to their discipline or course specific work.

  • UNL LIbraries Annotated Bibliographies: Students will learn the reasons for creating annotated bibliographies, review annotated bibliographies from a variety of disciplines, understand the components of an annotated bibliography, and practice writing their own.

 

Adding a module to your Canvas course

  1.  Open up Canvas and select the Canvas Commons icon in your navigation menu. ""
  2. Enter "unl libraries" into the search box and select the module you are interested in adding.
  3. The module detail page contains a Note for Instructors, which provides some context. You may also preview the module content before importing it into your course.
  4. Click Import and select the course you want the module copied into.
  5. The module is now available in your course site.
  6. After adding a module to your course consider adding course or assignment specific information.

video (01:31)
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com