It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Libraries' Virtual Learning Tutorials: Tutorials & How-to Videos
Interactive tutorials on library resources and information literacy concepts.
Virtual Learning Tutorials
Interactive tutorials providing step-by-step and how-to instruction on a variety of library research topics.
Learn the best way to access over 3,000,000 (that's million) books on the shelves and hundreds of online databases providing access to millions of electronic resources, such as journal articles, books, encyclopedias, data sets, images, and more.
Each of the tutorials found in on this page can be customized for a specific course or program and/or imported into a Canvas course. Some of the tutorials are already available to add to your course through the Canvas Commons. The following modules are available and can easily be imported.
Using the Libraries
Many students have difficulty navigating the library resources, locating research help, and knowing what is available through the libraries. These tutorials are aimed at helping students navigate the UNL Libraries, explore resources, and set up and access important accounts.
UNL Libraries Creating and Using Library Accounts: Students will learn how to save search results and renew materials using their Library Account and create an Interlibrary Loan account, which they can use to request and renew materials from non NU libraries.
UNL Libraries Orientation:Students will learn how to locate key resources on the libraries website, contact a librarian for help, identify subject experts and resources, create an interlibrary loan account, and choose a library database.
These tutorials will help your students complete their research-based assignments, whether they're learning how to find books and articles or need to evaluate sources.
UNL Libraries Basic Research Skills: Students will learn basic search strategies; how to find articles and books in QuickSearch; how to find HathiTrust e-books; and how to find articles using Academic Search Premier.
UNL Libraries Evaluating Sources: Students will learn about different types of sources they might use in a research paper and how to evaluate those sources for credibility.
These resources are aimed at supporting the skills students in addition to their discipline or course specific work.
UNL LIbraries Annotated Bibliographies:Students will learn the reasons for creating annotated bibliographies, review annotated bibliographies from a variety of disciplines, understand the components of an annotated bibliography, and practice writing their own.
Adding a module to your Canvas course
Open up Canvas and select the Canvas Commons icon in your navigation menu.
Enter "unl libraries" into the search box and select the module you are interested in adding.
The module detail page contains a Note for Instructors, which provides some context. You may also preview the module content before importing it into your course.
Click Import and select the course you want the module copied into.
The module is now available in your course site.
After adding a module to your course consider adding course or assignment specific information.