New Resources & Collections Updates: Native American Heritage Resources

November is National Native American Heritage Month! UNL Libraries provides access to a range of online resources to support research on the histories and cultures of indigenous peoples in the U.S. and elsewhere, including: 

Full text publications: 

• Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America: Documentation of Native American history in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the 16th century through late 20th century. Includes manuscripts, artwork, photographs, treaties, speeches, diaries, historic maps, travel journals, and rare books.
• Indigenous Newspapers in North America: Digitized Native American newspapers covering the years 1828-2016.
• Independent Voices: Native American publications: Alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the late 1960s and early 1970s. (Open Access)

Reference Sources: 

• Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America: Index to journal articles, books, and government documents on the culture, history and daily life of indigenous peoples in North America.
• Native Americans: An encyclopedia of history, culture, and peoples
• Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America

Documentary Films:

• Docuseek2: Native American Heritage (21 titles)

Music: 

• Native American Music: A selection of recordings of traditional and contemporary music, mainly from releases on the Smithsonian Folkways label (note: this page may take some time to load). 

Online Collections at UNL (Publicly Accessible):

• American Indian Treaties Portal
• Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project: A space for telling the stories of the American Indian children who attended Genoa, their communities, and their descendants.
• Omaha Indian Heritage: Collection of texts, images, and photographs of artifacts.
• Omaha Language Learning: Omaha language materials, both old and new.
• Omaha & Ponca Digital Dictionary
• Salmon Pueblo Archaeological Research Collection: The Salmon Pueblo Archaeological Research Collection (SPARC) connects with and builds from the efforts of the Chaco Research Archive to enhance access to archaeological research on Chaco Canyon, New Mexico.

Other Freely Available Resources: 

• Native American Heritage Month: Featured Online Exhibits & Collections from the Library of Congress, National Archives, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, and Smithsonian Institution. 
• U.S National Archives Resources for Native American Heritage Month