Subject and Course Guides: Beginning Your Research in English: Best Bets for Literature Databases

Pro Tip: How to Get the Full Text

Not every database will provide the full text of every article you find, but don't let that stop you. If you aren't instantly connected to the article's full text, keep an eye out for the Find This for Me link:

If you still can't get access, request it through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar

If you use Google Scholar, make sure to set your Google Scholar library preferences so you can get the full text of articles through University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries' subscriptions.

From the Scholar homepage:

click Settings
select Library Links
search for University of Nebraska-Lincoln
look for the "Find This for Me" link on your results page

Google Scholar

Start with this database

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, dissertations, and other materials on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, historical aspects of printing and publishing, rhetoric and composition, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, magazines, books, essays, reviews, and more covering content in the humanities. (Index)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Fields of study include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.

See all databases

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries gives you access to hundreds of databases to help you with your research.

Subject Guide

Liz Lorang

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

UNL Libraries is here to support your research and learning needs - please contact me for help.

Subjects: Digital Humanities / Digital Scholarship, Great Plains Studies, History, Women's & Gender Studies