Subject and Course Guides: Beginning Your Research in English: Home

Library Accounts You'll Need

To make the most of your research, you'll need to have two accounts with the University Libraries. Your general UNL login credentials will allow you access to electronic resources even when you're off campus. A Delivery Account will allow you to have research materials delivered to you from any library on campus and from libraries throughout the world.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln University Libraries

This guide is designed to get students started with research in English and literary studies. There are many more resources available via the University Libraries. To check out the full UNL University Libraries website, visit https://libraries.unl.edu/

What brings you here?

I need to figure out a topic or understand my research topic better

Start with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference resources
Before trying to understand scholarly and peer-reviewed books and articles, get a firm grasp of your topic with definitions, topic overviews, and information written with the learner in mind.
more...less...
Wikipedia will work okay for some topics, but its coverage is inconsistent and credibility may be an issue. If you start with Wikipedia, be sure to look at the sources in an article. Reputable pages should have multiple citations.

I need to find scholarly articles about my topic

Use these recommended databases
To locate references to and links to full text articles in English or American literatures (and other world literatures) or to track down articles on composition and rhetoric, start with the MLA International Bibliography.

You can search many other databases, depending on your interests. You can link to some of these from the Literature Databases or Primary Sources tabs in this guide.

You can also see an A to Z listing of all the Libraries' databases by scrolling down the page in this link. Look at both the By Subject & Alphabetical Order options.
more...less...
Remember: there's a difference between scholarly and peer-reviewed. Scholarly is a much broader category and can include books, articles, reviews, opinion pieces, and more. Peer-reviewed refers to a specific process in which a resource is formally evaluated by scholars before it is approved for publication.

I'm looking for books on my topic

Finding Books
Books are vital to doing research in English and literary studies. We have thousands of books in the UNL Libraries on literature and language topics, and we also have access to millions more books worldwide. Learn how to find books on your topic at UNL and beyond.
more...less...
If the University Libraries does not have a book you need, use our Delivery service to have it delivered--often within just a matter of days!

I'm looking for primary sources

Finding Primary Sources
Primary sources are original materials that document historical events and experiences. Through the University Libraries and beyond, you have access to millions of primary source materials--many of which you can access in our building and online.

I need help citing my sources

Use these tools for citing sources and managing your research.
The Modern Languages Association provides a very helpful MLA Style Center online.

Use it in conjunction with the MLA Handbook, 8th edition. LOVE Ref LB2369 .M52 2016

Use the Citation/Reference Management Tools tab above for additional information.

I'm totally lost and don't know where to start

Contact a librarian
Contact one of the two librarians working with the English Department. They will work with you by email, phone, or in person.

Liz Lorang

Professor Kathy Johnson