Perceivable - Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive.
This means that users must be able to perceive the information being presented (it can't be invisible to all of their senses)
Operable - User interface components and navigation must be operable.
This means that users must be able to operate the interface (the interface cannot require interaction that a user cannot perform)
Understandable - Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable.
This means that users must be able to understand the information as well as the operation of the user interface (the content or operation cannot be beyond their understanding)
Robust - Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies.
This means that users must be able to access the content as technologies advance (as technologies and user agents evolve, the content should remain accessible)
Source: https://www.w3.org/TR/UNDERSTANDING-WCAG20/intro.html
Creating Online Tutorials by
Today's students rely heavily on using electronic resources; they expect to be able to access library resources from any location and at any time of the day. More and more schools, from K-12 through graduate level universities, are offering online education, and libraries must be prepared to guide learners in how to use library resources when and where they are needed. Online tutorials are the library s answer to providing this immediate instruction, and today s learners are expecting to have these guides available. Many librarians don t have the technical expertise needed to create online tutorials. Creating Online Tutorials: A Practical Guide for Librarians will help guide them through the basics of designing and producing an online tutorial. Through practical examples, the book will guide librarians just starting the process of creating an online tutorial from start to finish and will provide tips that will be useful to librarians with more experience in designing online tutorials. This detailed roadmap for designing and producing online tutorials covers: When to consider a tutorial Needs assessment Choosing the right technology Selecting and organizing instructional content Planning script, images, narration, other design elements Assessment as a primary design element Maintenance and updating Online tutorial resources After reading this book, new tutorial developers will have a practical, customizable blueprint that will enable them confidently address the creation of their first online tutorials, and experienced developers will learn efficient techniques to create and enhance future tutorials that are attractive, effective teaching tools."
E-Learning 2.0 Technologies and Web Applications in Higher Education by 
Effective Online Teaching by
Effective Online Teaching: Training Manual Designed to accompany the book Effective Online Teaching, the Training Manual offers instructors a handy resource that follows the main text and includes overviews, readings, discussion questions, hypothetical scenarios, activities, assignments, and scripts that can be used in face-to-face training or plugged into an online course management system. The companion CD contains plug-and-play narrated presentations for each chapter of Effective Online Teaching, as well as handouts, templates, and PowerPoint slides. "Tina Stavredes has done something sorely needed in the online teaching world --she has successfully combined solid theory and research with the practical application of instructor training. Both the book and the training manual are a 'must' for any online education organization. Bravo!" --Dr. Darcy W. Hardy, assistant vice provost for Technology Education Initiatives, University of Texas at San Antonio, and chair emerita, United States Distance Learning Association "Effective Online Teaching is that rare book that weaves together a solid understanding of the adult online learner and learning theory with dozens of helpful instructor strategies, activities, and resources to support learners' success in an online environment. This book and its accompanying training manual is a 'must-have' set for online instructors in higher education and corporate settings." --Sharan B. Merriam, professor emeritus of adult education, University of Georgia, and coauthor, Learning in Adulthood "An eminently practical book that provides clear and unpretentious explanations of the learning theories that are essential knowledge for every online teacher, together with equally uncluttered and easy-to-follow guidance about how to apply this knowledge to achieve excellent teaching." --Michael Grahame Moore, Distinguished Professor of Education, The Pennsylvania State University; and editor, The American Journal of Distance Education
Instructional Design for eLearning by
Instructional Design for ELearning: Essential guide to creating successful eLearning courses is a powerful yet concise how-to resource to instructional design for eLearning, and a key tool for aspiring, new, and experienced instructional designers. If you need a basic understanding of what instructional design for eLearning is, this book is for you. The text includes comprehensive tables, questionnaires, checklists, templates, and other helpful visuals. In the Instructional Design for ELearning, you will discover how to apply the key principles behind creating engaging materials that enable your audience to both gain and retain the knowledge and skills they are being taught.
Modern Pathfinders: Creating Better Research Guides by
"Whether you call them research guides, subject guides or pathfinders, web-based guides are a great way to create customized support tools for a specific audience: a class, a group, or anyone engaging in research. Studies show that library guides are often difficult, confusing, or overwhelming, causing users to give up and just fall back on search engines such as Google. How can librarians create more effective, less confusing, and simply better research guides? In Modern Pathfinders: Creating Better Research Guides, author Jason Puckett takes proven ideas from instructional design and user experience web design and combines them into easy-to-understand principles for making your research guides better teaching tools. It doesn't matter what software your library uses; the advice and techniques in this book will help you create guides that are easier for your users to understand and more effective to use"-- provided by publisher
Online by Design by
As more and more academic libraries consider offering online credit courses or converting face-to-face courses to online, instructional librarians need to quickly get up to speed about online course design and delivery. Even the most seasoned instruction librarian may be intimidated by the thought of converting their classroom course into an online course. Based on both sound research in the area on of online pedagogy and extensive teaching experience, this book includes ideas for: 1.Creating innovative and interactive information literacy tutorials that engage students. 2.Addressing common pitfalls of online instruction including communicating with students, designing a course that is easy to navigate, and getting the most out of the course management system. 3.Developing assignments and assessments that work in an online environment 4.Incorporating the ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education into the materials development process. A must for both seasoned instruction librarians and those just starting, this book will provide librarians with the practical information needed to move their instruction online and teach a successful course.
The Online Teaching Survival Guide by
The Online Teaching Survival Guide offers faculty a wide array of theory-based techniques designed for online teaching and technology-enhanced courses. Written by two pioneers in distance education, this guidebook presents practical instructional strategies spread out over a four-phase timeline that covers the lifespan of a course. The book includes information on a range of topics such as course management, social presence, community building, and assessment. Based on traditional pedagogical theory, The Online Teaching Survival Guide integrates the latest research in cognitive processing and learning outcomes. Faculty with little knowledge of educational theory and those well versed in pedagogy will find this resource essential for developing their online teaching skills. Praise for The Online Teaching Survival Guide "At a time when resources for training faculty to teach online are scarce, Judith Boettcher and Rita-Marie Conrad have presented a must-read for all instructors new to online teaching. By tying best practices to the natural rhythms of a course as it unfolds, instructors will know what to do when and what to expect. The book is a life raft in what can be perceived as turbulent and uncharted waters." -Rena M. Palloff and Keith Pratt, program directors and faculty, Teaching in the Virtual Classroom Program, Fielding Graduate University "Developed from years of experience supporting online faculty, Judith Boettcher and Rita-Marie Conrad's book provides practical tips and checklists that should especially help those new to online teaching hit the ground running." -Karen Swan, Stukel Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership, University of Illinois Springfield "This book blends a fine synthesis of research findings with plenty of practical advice. This book should be especially valuable for faculty teaching their first or second course online. But any instructor, no matter how experienced, is likely to find valuable insights and techniques." -Stephen C. Ehrmann, director, Flashlight Program for the Study and Improvement of Educational Uses of Technology; vice president, The Teaching, Learning, and Technology Group
The Technology Toolbelt for Teaching by
Instructors are under pressure to integrate technology into their traditional or online instruction, but often they aren't sure what to do or why they should do it. The Technology Toolbelt for Teaching offers instructors a down-to-earth guide to common technologies, explains the pedagogical purposes they serve, and shows how they can be used effectively in online or face-to-face classrooms. Designed to be easy to use, the book includes a decision-making matrix for each technology tool: a series of questions that teachers can use to decide whether these tools support their teaching goals. This comprehensive resource contains an array of useful tools that address problems of organization such as a time management calendar, aids for scheduling meetings, and mind-mapping or graphic organizers. The authors also include a variety of online tools for communication and collaboration, and tools to present content, help establish presence, and assess learning. Praise for The Technology Toolbelt for Teaching "Feeling overwhelmed and even afraid of integrating technology into your course? Fear no more! Susan Manning and Kevin Johnson have provided the ultimate guide that explains not only the various technology tools that can support faculty work and enhance coursework but also provides sound advice to help faculty choose the right tool for the job. This is a must-read for all faculty regardless of their experience with technology."--Rena M. Palloff and Keith Pratt, managing partners, Crossroads Consulting Group, and authors, Building Online Learning Communities and Collaborating Online "The Technology Toolbelt for Teaching delivers exactly what it promises: a concrete overview of a wide variety of tools, complete with examples specific to practitioners in both K-12 and higher education. Authors Susan Manning and Kevin Johnson provide practical applications rather than philosophy, and solutions rather than platitudes. This is a must for any teacher working with--or wanting to start working with--technology."--Jane Bozarth, author, Social Media for Trainers; eLearning coordinator, State of North Carolina "Creating compelling learning experiences for students is fraught with decision points. Add one or more technology options to the equation, and the number of directions to take learners seems to grow limitlessly, and can either paralyze the instructional design process or cause us to take on too much. Enter The Technology Toolbelt for Teaching. Manning and Johnson's handy guide - and the decision-making matrix that frames each of the tools it demystifies - is an essential resource for choosing paths wisely."--Jonathan Finkelstein, author, Learning in Real Time; founder and executive producer, LearningTimes Includes 50+ fresh and useful technology tools for teaching A decision matrix for choosing and using the right tools Examples for using each tool in higher education and K-12