Subject and Course Guides: Environmental & Water Resources Engineering: Toxicology

Toxic Substances

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Information on toxic substances, hazardous waste sites, case studies, brownfields, publications, etc.
ARS Pesticide Properties Database
ECOTOX Knowledgebase
EPA database provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life; impacts of chemicals on the environment; includes species, chemical, test methods, results.
EPA Chemicals and Toxics Topics
EPA Databases Related to Pesticide Risk Assessment
Links to databases on human health effects that may result from exposure to various substances found in the environment; exposure data for workers involved in the handling or application of pesticides; toxicological profiles for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites.
EPA Significant New Alternatives Policy (SNAP) Program
Ozone Layer Protection Alternatives listed by industrial sector
SUBSPORT Chemical Substitution Tools
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program
Tracks the management toxic chemicals that pose a threat to human health and the environment. U.S. facilities in certain industry sectors that manufacture, process, or otherwise use these chemicals in amounts above established levels must report how each chemical is managed through recycling, energy recovery, treatment, and releases to the environment
CPID Consumer Product Information Database
Browse by health effects, products, manufacturer, ingredients.
U.S. Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Environmental Contaminants
Oil spills, contaminants, National Resource Damage Assessment, endocrine (hormone) disruptors

Toxnet This link opens in a new window
Note: The content previously available via Toxnet has been reorganized and moved to other sites. This page provides links to the pages that are now hosting various types of toxicology information.
A publicly available government resource that provides access to a group of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related information. It includes HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Info System), TRI (Toxic Release Inventory), TOXLINE (journal articles about toxic substances), and other related databases. TOXNET features TOXMAP, maps depicting toxic chemical locations across the United States.