Subject and Course Guides: Psychology: Assessments, Tests, & Measures

Overview

This page lists recommended sources for finding copies of test instruments (both freely available and at a cost); and resources providing information on responsible testing practices and use. Commercial tests are sometimes reprinted, in part or whole -- with permission of author and/or copyright holder. Otherwise, test publishers have strict guidelines for selling instruments (e.g. to practicing psychologists or other individuals providing appropriate credentials).

Commercial tests typically cannot be obtained via Interlibrary Loan. For assistance, please contact UNL's psychology librarian Erica DeFrain.

Finding Tests

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enter relevant keywords/test names into search boxes and under Search Options - Limit your results - Supplemental Materials select Tests to help locate articles in which the complete instrument is provided.
Dissertations and Theses (includes Dissertation Abstracts International) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enter relevant keywords and limit to the Abstract field. Many times authors will list the test and measures used; then look within the dissertation's Table of Contents to see if the instrument was included in the appendix.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limit search results under Document Type to 160: Tests/Questionnaires
ETS Test Link Database This link opens in a new window
Database of over 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the U.S., Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia. Over 1,200 unpublished tests are immediately available for use by students and researchers. Contact information is provided to request permissions for others.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Includes reviews of tests, along with test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and author(s). Test subject areas include psychology, education, business, leadership, neuropsychology, speech, language, hearing, reading, and more. Also includes Spanish-language materials. Copies of these tests can be viewed at the Oscar K. Buros Library at UNL, a reference library containing the world’s largest collection of educational and psychological tests.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enter relevant keywords/topics and use AND to combine with one or more MeSH terms (e.g. psychological tests, psychometrics, psychiatric status, rating scales, questionnaires)

Finding Tests Reviews

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Includes reviews of tests, along with test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and author(s). Test subject areas include psychology, education, business, leadership, neuropsychology, speech, language, hearing, reading, and more. Also includes Spanish-language materials. Copies of these tests can be viewed at the Oscar K. Buros Library at UNL, a reference library containing the world’s largest collection of educational and psychological tests.

Helpful Resources

Buros Center for Testing FAQ's
Answers to FAQ's about the Buros Center, psychometric consulting, finding and selecting tests, procedural concerns, and more.
FAQ: Finding information about psychological tests (APA)
List of FAQ’s compiled by the APA from questions they have received about how to find tests or information about tests. It is divided into three sections: Published Psychological Tests, Unpublished Psychological Tests and Measures, and A Final Word and Responsibilities of Test Users.