Skip to main content

Library Workshops for Students and Faculty: Workshops on Demand

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Library Events for students and faculty

Workshop Request form

Below is a sampling of workshops the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries can deliver to groups across the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus.

All workshops are customized to meet individual time and content requirements. 

Request a workshop: http://libraries.unl.edu/library-instruction-request

If you are interested in a workshop that is not currently offered, please contact Toni Anaya (tanaya2@unl.edu).

Citation Management Tools

Save Time and Organize! - Citation Management Quick Tips:

Need help keeping track of your readings, articles and your citations?  Come and learn about some free and subscription citation management tools that can help you organize and manage your articles and citations, give you access to your documents 24/7, and format your bibliography and in-text citations for your papers.

 

Endnote Basics

Hands-on instruction and practice with this citation manager. Learn how to efficiently import references, attach a digital document to a citation, and use EndNote to incorporate in-text citations and generate a bibliography in the citation style of your choice. Attendees will get the most out of the workshop if they have EndNote X7 installed on their personal computers.

Mendeley Basics

Learn to use Mendeley a "free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research."

Refworks Basics

Hands-on instruction and practice with this web-based citation manager. Learn how to efficiently import references, attach a digital document to a citation, and use RefWorks to incorporate in-text citations and generate a bibliography in the citation style of your choice. Please set up a RefWorks  account, and download and install the Write-n-Cite add-on on your computer prior to the workshop; visit http://libraries.unl.edu/refworks.

Zotero Basics

Learn how to organize your research by using Zotero a free online bibliographic manager. The workshop will get you set up, show you the basics of adding to and maintaining your database, and show you how to automatically create bibliographies in your desired style (APA, MLA, etc) directly from your account.

 

 

Become a Better Researcher

How Do I Know I’ve Found Everything?: Literature Review Workshop

Find out what the literature review is and how to get started, how to keep track of sources, searches and new research, and how to use library resources more effectively.

Web of Science for Scientists

Learn how to search this database efficiently and thoroughly, set up alerts to new publications of interest, and use special features such as "analyze your results"

Digital Humanities 101

This workshop will introduce participants to digital humanities and its diverse community of practice, major methodologies, and sample
tools. The goal of the workshop is to introduce some key concepts and develop a foundational digital humanities literacy.

Library 101

New to the University and need an introduction to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries? This introductory hands on workshop will explore the libraries’ Quick Search feature, classic catalog, electronic resources as well as how to access library resources from off campus.

Reading those long Articles

Having trouble reading and digesting those long scholarly articles for your assignments? Come get some tips on how to read a scholarly article in the sciences, humanities and social sciences.

Find it fast and Finish your paper on time

Just received your first research paper assignment and don’t know where to start? Need more information and don’t know where to find it? Come and find out how to devise a research strategy that will get you on track to completing that research paper.

Database Training

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln LIbraries offers access to over 100 different databases. Request a workshop for any of these databases for your group.

 

Finding the good stuff on the web

Can’t find the information you need on the Internet?  Did Google give you too many hits?  Come and learn how to use the Internet to find resources from open access journals and databases, Google books and Google scholar, and other free scholarly sources that you can use in your paper.

 

Managing, Publishing and Presenting your Research

Measuring the Impact of your Research

Learn how to document the citation of your research using various metrics, and evaluate which metrics best describe the impact of your work

Creating your poster in PowerPoint

Learn how to size your PowerPoint slide, to choose an appropriate layout, to add/edit images, and to use other PowerPoint graphics features to display your poster information.

Copyright, Fair Use and Author’s Rights

Copyright is a battlefield, and an author's control over his/her own work can easily become collateral damage or go missing in action. Many publishers believe they have an inherent right to own the intellectual property arising from your grant-funded research and to live off the earnings of written works that you had little choice but to give them for free or pay them to publish.

In this session you will learn more about U.S. Copyright Law, Author’s Rights, and protecting your Intellectual Property.  You will learn how to make copyright law work in your favor: what to do, what to avoid, when to push back, and when to run away and live to fight another day.

Data Management Plans

Data Management Plans are now a required part of grant proposals for many funding agencies. This session will give an overview of what should be included in a Data Management Plan and introduce resources to help if you need to write a Data Management Plan of your own.

Dealing with Data

This session will introduce best practice, tips, and tools for organizing, naming, and documenting digital data. Attendees will leave with practices they can implement on their own digital files and share with researchers wrangling with managing data.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Data Repository

Your research data is valuable-have you considered how you might preserve and share it? The University of Nebraska-Lincoln Data Repository, managed by the Libraries, allows researchers to preserve their data and make it publicly available, if desired. Researchers are able to deposit up to 50 GB of data for free. Learn the basics of University of Nebraska-LincolnDR and how to submit datasets to the repository.

Data Management for Grant Seekers

Will you be applying for a grant that requires a data management plan? Many federal funding organizations, including NSF and NIH, now require data management or sharing plans to be submitted along with grant proposals. This workshop will help you prepare your data management plan to conform with granting agencies' policies on disseminating, preserving and sharing research results.

 

Keeping up with Online Tools

Google Docs Workshop

Come learn the basics of Google Docs, free web-based word processing, spreadsheet and presentation software that allows you to create and edit documents from anywhere. Using Google Docs, you can easily share work and collaborate with multiple people simultaneously. During this one-hour workshop we will cover the basics and will practice creating, editing and collaborating.

 

Advanced Google for Researchers

Contact Us

ASKus: 402-472-9568

UNL  Libraries
318 Love Library
P.O. Box 884100
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68588-4100

(This address is located at 13th & R Streets in Lincoln, Nebraska.)

Related Links

Parking & Transit Services
University of Nebraska Foundation

About UNL

© 2016 University of Nebraska–Lincoln | Lincoln, NE 68588 | 402-472-7211 | About UNL
UNL is an equal opportunity employer with a comprehensive plan for diversity. Find out more: employment.unl.edu
UNL Home
CIC Website
Big Ten Website