This page provides news about changes to the electronic resources managed by UNL Libraries. Check here for information about planned resource service outages, significant known issues with resource access, platform updates, and more. Go to the Updates Blog section of this guide to subscribe and have updates sent to your inbox as they are posted.
For more information about specific updates listed on this page, contact eresources@unl.edu.
To report an issue with electronic resources linked from UNL Libraries' catalog or Databases A-Z list, patrons should contact ask-a-question@unl.edu. Libraries personnel can use the internal problem reporting form.
26 July 2024: EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance that may last up to 10 days. During this period, access to EBSCO interfaces and databases will not be affected. However, newly purchased EBSCO ebooks may not be available until at least one day after the maintenance is complete. Updates to content in EBSCO databases will be paused, and it may take up to 10 days following the maintenance period for updates to complete.
July 2024: When connected to the Nexis Uni database using a library-supplied link, clicking the "Sign In | Register" button at the top right of the window will log you out of the database and present a login screen, with no provision for registering a new personal account. Users who already have a Nexis Uni "profile" account may login to return to the database, but others will need to reconnect. In order to create a new profile, users must go to https://www.nexisuni.com while on campus, then click "Sign In | Register", then "Create Profile". Once created, the login account will be available for use when connecting via the library-supplied link.
11 April 2024: Users using library-supplied links to connect to certain AM Digital (Adam Matthew) collections may encounter a transitory "timeout" error. This can be ignored: the connection should be successfully made shortly afterward. The provider is aware of this issue and is working on a fix.
Ongoing: Users may see links to various online resources returning a blank page, or various HTTP errors. These issues are typically due to interference from cookies and other files cached in the user’s browser, and can often be resolved by clearing the browser’s history, or using a different browser, and then retrying the link. Clearing only the cookies specifically for the website affected may also be an effective solution. See the Libraries FAQ on this subject.
1 August 2024: The Artstor platform will be retired on August 1, 2024. All content currently hosted on Artstor has been migrated to the JSTOR platform; beginning August 1, all links to Artstor will redirect to the corresponding content on JSTOR. Redirects will be in place for one year. Please consult the Artstor to JSTOR Migration Guide for full information about the migration.
Fall 2024: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrated to a new interface. A preview of the updated platform, featuring the same databases available via the old interface, is now available. See EBSCO's Quick Start Guide for more information about using the new platform.
June 2024: The Iter Bibliography database is now available on the EBSCOhost platform, where it is cross-searchable with other EBSCO databases. The resource continues to be available on the Iter platform.