Subject and Course Guides: ENGL 212: Intro to LGBTQ Literature: Home

Journals

The list below includes some journals related to LGBTQIA and Gender Studies that are available via the University Libraries or open access platforms. This list is not comprehensive of all journals potentially relevant to contemporary LGBTQ+ literature and related fields. For more ideas, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

GLQ
Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
QED
QED: A Journal in GLBTQ Worldmaking ventures to bring together scholars, activists, artists, and other cultural producers to explore issues that matter to the diverse lived experience, struggle, and transformation of GLBTQ peoples wherever they may be.

Additionally, you might consider browsing the Ethnic, Race, and Gender Studies bookcase in BrowZine. Or, use the Advanced Search for subject headings like:

Homosexuality -- Periodicals

Gays -- Periodicals

Lesbians -- Periodicals

Queer Theory -- Periodicals

Gender Studies -- Periodicals

Other Journals to Consider:

Callallo
Callaloo, the premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide. Recently ranked 13th in Every Writer's Resource's Top 50 Literary Magazines, Callaloo offers an engaging mixture of fiction, poetry, critical articles, interviews, drama, and visual art.
Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction
Electronic access via UNL Libraries from 1956 - current.
Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies
Available electronically via the UNL Libraries from 1991 - current.
MELUS
MELUS, a prestigious and rigorous journal in the field of multi-ethnic literature of the United States, has been a vital resource for scholarship and teaching for more than thirty years. Published quarterly, MELUS illuminates the national, international, and transnational contexts of U.S. ethnic literature. Articles in MELUS also engage newly emerging art forms such as graphic narrative and internet blogs, as well as multi-ethnic film, history, and culture.
Mosaic
A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal for the comparative study of literature and ideas. Available electronically via UNL Libraries from 1967 - 2000, and 2011 - current.
Postcolonial Studies
Electronic access from UNL Libraries, 1998 - current.
Tikkun
Named after the Jewish concept of mending and transforming a fragmented world, the magazine Tikkun offers analysis and commentary that strive to bridge the cultural divide between religious and secular progressives.
Women, Gender, and Families of Color
Women, Gender, and Families of Color is a new multidisciplinary journal that centers on the study of Black, Latina, Indigenous, and Asian American women, gender, and families. Within this framework, the journal encourages theoretical and empirical research from history, the social and behavioral sciences, and humanities including comparative and transnational research, and analyses of domestic social, political, economic, and cultural policies and practices within the United States.
WSQ
Since 1972 WSQ (formerly Women's Studies Quarterly) has been an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality. WSQ is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal published in June and December. Each thematic issue is guest edited and combines contemporary developments in feminist theory and scholarship with essays, poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and the visual arts.

Using the Libraries' Catalog

There are multiple pathways in to finding resources in the University Libraries. The Libraries' catalog includes descriptive information for all of the physical materials owned by the UNL Libraries (except for non-book materials in Archives & Special Collections). You can use the "Quick Search" on the Libraries' homepage, but you'll also want to try out the Advanced Search. Each of these searches have their own strengths and weaknesses, and advanced researchers will want to work across them.

Quick Search
Use the Quick Search on the Libraries homepage when you either know something very specific that you're looking for (such as the title of a book) or if you are trying to see at a glance what might be available on a particular topic. Quick Search pulls in results for books, journal titles, and similar information, as well as results for some articles and other electronic resources. While the number of results you get might make Quick Search look comprehensive, don't be fooled--for advanced research, you'll need to go well beyond the Quick Search box on the homepage.

As you begin your research, you might also consider consulting a specialized encyclopedia such as the following:

Global Encyclopedia of LGBTQ History
This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.

For more on other LGBTQIA resources on campus, consult the Diversity LibGuide. This section of the guide contains a selection of resources relating to LGBTQIA issues and topics.

Databases of Scholarship (Books, Articles, and More)

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Books, journal articles, conference papers, and more in the areas of gender studies gender inequality and identity, masculinity, feminism, sexism, and post-feminism. (Index)
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, magazines, books, essays, reviews, and more covering content in the humanities. (Index)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, books, dissertations, and other materials on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, the historical aspects of printing and publishing, rhetoric and composition, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. (Full-Text & Index)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Fields of study include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.

Primary Source Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources focusing on LGBTQ history and associated social, political, health and legal issues. Includes newspapers, magazines, newsletters, manuscripts, correspondence, and more.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and more during the latter half of the 20th century. (Full-Text)
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, books, magazines, newspapers, primary sources, and more, covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues. (Full-Text)

GLBT Historical Society: Online Collections
Includes the Bay Area Reporter and other open access collections.
OutWeek Magazine
This site contains the entire 105 issues of OutWeek Magazine, published in New York from June, 1989 to July, 1991. OutWeek Magazine was the seminal lesbian and gay publication during the peak era of AIDS activism in the late 80s and early 90s.

Other Resources

Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives contains materials by and about lesbians and their communities. Of particular interest for this course might be materials found in "Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections," including oral histories and videos.
ONE Archives at the USC Libraries
The collections at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries are primarily national in scope, with special focus on LGBTQ histories in the Los Angeles region. The archives also include a number of international materials, such as books, periodicals, and posters.
Out History
OutHistory.org was founded in October 2008 by Jonathan Ned Katz, author of the groundbreaking Gay American History (1976) and other books on the history of sexuality. The site is collaborative and often groups primary resources together in exhibits.

WorldCat

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive catalog of materials currently available in libraries worldwide. Includes books, internet resources, journals, conference papers, maps, manuscripts, music scores, sound recordings, and video recordings. Items found in WorldCat can be requested through the UNL Libraries Delivery/Interlibrary Loan service. (Index)