ENGL 477/877 Advanced Topics in Digital Humanities: Home

Current and historical news articles from local, regional, national, and international publications. Includes the Lincoln Journal Star (1995-), Omaha World-Herald (1885-), Omaha Star (1938-), and other local Nebraska newspapers. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting the history of the African American community. Includes pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports, and oral histories. Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and North Carolina. (Full-Text and Images)

Digitized Native American newspapers covering the years 1828-2016. (Full-Text)

Modern and historical essays, journals, newspapers, fiction, literature, and poetry on the African diaspora experience. Includes the historical Chicago Defender newspaper. Material comes from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. (Full-Text)

Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)

Images compiled by the University of Nebraska Libraries and other university departments. Images depict Sheldon Art Gallery collections, Nebraska history, Plains tribes, opera scores from the Rokahr Family Archive, architecture, agriculture, textiles, wildlife, and much more. (Images)

Alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and more during the latter half of the 20th century. (Full-Text)

Online news, sports, entertainment, and weather updates from the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper in southeast Nebraska. Current subscription funded by ASUN Student Readership Program. Requires a UNL student email account (@huskers.unl.edu). (Full-Text)