In-text references should immediately follow the title, word, or phrase to which they are directly relevant, rather than appearing at the end of long clauses or sentences. In-text references should always precede punctuation marks.
Single Author:
In-text reference:
The NIH has called for a change in smallpox vaccination
policy (Fauci 2002) that would…
refers to this Bibliography entry:
Fauci AS. 2002. Smallpox vaccination policy—the need for dialogue.
New England Journal of Medicine. 346(17):1319-1320.
Two Authors: Use both author names, in order, separated by "and".
In-text reference:
….and the most promising recent work on albuterol administration
(Mazan and Hoffman 2001) is....
refers to this Bibliography entry:
Mazan MR, Hoffman AM. 2001. Effects of aerosolized albuterol on
physiologic responses to exercise in standardbreds. American
Journal of Veterinary Research. 62(11):1812-1817.
More than 3 Authors: Use only the first author's names-, followed by "et al." and the publication year.
In-text reference:
….but later studies (Andrade et al. 2011) established that…
refers to this Bibliography entry:
Andrade JP, Berkov S, Viladomat F, Codina C, Zuanazzi JA, Bastida J. 2001.
Alkaloids from Hippeastrum papilio. Molecules. 16(8):7097-7104.
Mention the author directly in your sentence:
Use only the year in the parenthetical in-text citation.
In-text reference:
This conclusion is supported by Rubin and Smith (1990), who found…
Authors with Identical Last Names, Same Publication Year:
In-text reference:
Earlier discussion about large animal experimentation (Dawson J 1986)
speculated that ….
refers to this Bibliography entry::
Dawson J. 1986. Animal experiments: conference report. British Medical
Journal. 292(6536):1654-1655.
which is DIFFERENT from this reference, which is also in the bibliography:
Dawson M. 1986. Some examples of necessary continuation and
possible discontinuation of animal experiments. Acta Physiologica
Scandinavica Supplementum. 554:194-197.
No Identifiable Author (may be a book or report)
Begin the in-text reference with the first word or first few words of the title, followed by an ellipsis and the date. The date may be the publication date or a copyright date.
In-text reference:
Drug dosage recommendations for elderly patients
(Handbook... c2000) are considerably...
refers to this Bibliography entry:
Handbook of geriatric drug therapy. c2000. Springhouse (PA): Springhouse.