New York Times Article Archive
The Archive is the default search option on the NYTimes.com web site. It provides access to partial and full-text digital versions of New York Times articles from 1851-2006. Articles from 1851-1980 are either full-text or partial articles, while full-text versions are available for all articles published after 1980. "Full-text" means that the entire article is included. "Partial articles" provide an excerpt and a link to the TimesMachine (see below) where the article can be viewed in its original form.
Photographs, charts, illustrations, etc. that appeared in the print version of the newspaper may not be included with some articles. Display or classified ads that originally appeared alongside articles are not included.
Searching the Archive is not especially precise. You can do phrase searching by using quotation marks around the phrase. It is often useful to use the date filters to specify a date range. You can also sort results by newest or oldest.
TimesMachine
TimesMachine (https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser) offers searchable, browsable page scans of every issue of the print New York Times published between 1851-2002. It also provides PDF versions of the articles from 1851-1980. Post-1980 articles are available only in full-text form and not as PDFs. Sections not included in the Late City Edition of the paper are not found in the TimesMachine.
You can search by both keyword and indexing term. (If you search matches on an indexing term, it will be suggested when you start typing in the search bar.) As with the Archive search, you can specify a date range and sort by relevance, newest or oldest. When viewing an article, you can click on the indexing terms that are assigned to it in order to find other results with that same indexing term.
While NYTimes.com is a great option for reading the current news and offers additional (often multimedia) content, sometimes searching for articles or conducting a content analysis of the newspaper is better done through one of the library databases that includes the New York Times.
This link opens in a new window