Art and Art History: Finding Images

Noting that its "mission is to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the internet," Artcyclopedia claims to be definitive: "We have compiled a comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. We have all started out by covering the biggest and best sites around and have links for most well-known artists to keep you surfing for hours....We have now indexed 1200 art sites, and offer more than 32,000 links to an estimated 100,000 works by 7,500 renowned artists." A number of artists and movements covered include multimedia presentations.

Contains over 2 millions images of art and architecture from 13 European countries. Warning: Numerous 20th Century are not shown due to copyright.

The Archives of American Art is the largest repository in the world of primary source materials documenting the history of the visual arts in America. Included in over 5,000 collections are diaries, letters, sketchbooks, photographs, manuscripts, gallery records, and oral histories.

AICT is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free- access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.

Europeana Open Culture presents visual collections from Europe. Includes large images and a ‘comment’ option that opens up the possibility for dialogue between many people exploring the same images.

Google has partnered with hundred of museums and cultural institutions to host many collections online.

The Collection Database is a searchable database of artworks and related materials from the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

"NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more."