Skip to Main Content
When using photos from these websites, make sure to check their usage rights!
Many organizations license their photos using Creative Commons Licenses. Check the Creative Commons website to learn about what types of reuse these licenses allow.
Animal Science Image Gallery
From the American Society of Animal Science.
Apollo Image Atlas
A comprehensive collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography.
Photographs of bugs from the United States and Canada for identification and research. From Iowa State University.
Photos of weeds, insects, invasive species, and forests. From the University of Georgia’s Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health.
Photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. From the University of California, Berkeley.
Earth Science World Image Bank
Images from the American Geosciences Institute.
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
A digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics. From the University of Washington.
Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection
Photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States.
After doing a search, click "Tools" to filter results by usage rights.
Mid-Atlantic Herbaria Consortium
"The Mid-Atlantic Herbaria Consortium (MAHC) includes herbaria from New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland and D.C."
National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) Image Gallery
Astronomical images taken with NRAO instruments, as well as photographs of NRAO telescopes and facilities.
NDL (National Diet Library) Image Bank (Japan)
"Before the Internet and even before television, books were a major source of visual information.
The NDL Image Bank showcases items from the National Diet Library's substantial collection of visual materials, including ukiyo-e woodblock prints, books, magazines, and other forms of published media."
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Digitized images from the New York Public Library's collections.
NOAA Photo Library
Images from the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration.
A collection of free images, all licensed for reuse under Creative Commons CC0.
Plant Image Gallery
Photographs of plants from the Noble Research Institute.
Primate Info Net
Images, audio, and video from the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Primate Research Center.
USDA Image Gallery
Search for photographs from the USDA's Agricultural Research Service Office of Communications.