Skip to Main Content
Databases (Articles & Archieves, Patents) & Journals
(Sir Isaac) Newton Papers at Cambridge Digital Library
"Cambridge University Library holds the largest and most important collection of the scientific works of Isaac Newton (1642-1727)....The collection has been digitised and is available freely online through the Cambridge Digital Library."
The Academy of Natural Sciences at Drexel University Systematics and Evolution Collections
Collections with materials and information available online include:
"AIP Advances is an open access journal publishing in all areas of physical sciences—applied, theoretical, and experimental."
Astronomy Image Explorer
"The Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE) has been designed as a convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals. At its launch in December of 2013, the AIE was populated with hundreds of thousands of images published in the journals of the American Astronomical Society. Images made available on this site are for academic use by the research community. Users are able to easily search for images with any combination of author, journal, citation, format, and key words. Convenient tools are available to generate PowerPoint slides, download-high resolution images, obtain copyright and reuse information, or view the image within the context of the originally published research."
Bepress Digital Commons Network
"Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities."
Searchable Open Access materials (600k+) from university repositories (270+) using the Bepress system.
"Bio-protocol (ISSN: 2331-8325) is an e-journal founded in 2010 by a group of Stanford researchers. Our mission is to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, open-access, life science protocols.
We are free to publish with – we do not ever charge our authors. ...Bio-protocol is by invitation only, and all of our articles undergo extensive peer review to ensure reproducibility.
We actively promote open communication. Bio-protocol seeks to promote free and open communication within the life sciences community. To this end, all protocols are associated with a moderated Q&A panel. These Q&A panels help readers successfully reproduce protocols by letting them easily ask authors clarifying questions. ... The public nature of these Q&A panels reduces repetitive questions to authors, and provides a great platform for authors to build repute and expand their scientific networks."
BioMed Central (BMC)
We are an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Our journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health....All original research articles we publish are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Authors retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited."
"bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals."
BMC Research Notes
"Since it first launched in 2008, BMC Research Notes has been a place where researchers can publish short notes and observations, research outputs which are useful for the community but which can end up hidden in the lab notebook or as a footnote in a dataset. In order to re-affirm the importance of publishing these kinds of outputs, the journal is renewing its focus on publishing note articles as well as other potentially dark data such as short null results. Publishing these articles is useful for many researchers, therefore we are also expanding the scope to all scientific and clinical disciplines including health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, mathematics and all engineering disciplines. With this refocusing of BMC Research Notes back to its original vision, BioMed Central is offering a home for short communications to make dark data and single observations widely available to the global research community."
"CarlsbadOne is a one-click system streamlined for lead discovery and off-target effects. CarlsbadOne is web-based application that requires no installation. In addition, we have added diseases into the mix as well as many features to help streamline inquiries and analysis.
Additional new features include:
• Disease pathways
• Knowledge graphs
• Spreadsheet downloads"
CAS Common Chemistry
"CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes."
Cell Signaling Technologies Pathways Database
"On these resource pages you can find signaling pathway diagrams, research overviews, relevant antibody products, publications, and other research resources organized by topic. The pathway diagrams associated with these topics have been assembled by CST scientists and outside experts to provide succinct and current overviews of selected signaling pathways. Protein nodes in each pathway diagram are linked to specific antibody product information or, optionally, to protein-specific listings in the PhosphoSitePlus® database of post-translational modifications.
CERN Document Server
This collection has a large body of article, preprints, project, departmental, and individual experiment documentation related to experiments conducted by members of the CERN community.
"An open data resource of binding, functional and ADMET bioactivity data."
"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 30 million structures from hundreds of data sources." *Maintained by the Royal Society of Chemistry
Citizen Science: Theory and Practice
"Citizen Science: Theory and Practice is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal published by Ubiquity Press on behalf of the Citizen Science Association. It focuses on advancing the field of citizen science by providing a venue for citizen science researchers and practitioners - scientists, information technologists, conservation biologists, community health organizers, educators, evaluators, urban planners, and more - to share best practices in conceiving, developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining projects that facilitate public participation in scientific endeavors in any discipline."
DART-Europe E-Thesis Portal
Access to open access research theses from over 700+ Universities in 25+ European countries
The Dataverse Project
"Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows you to replicate others' work more easily. Researchers, data authors, publishers, data distributors, and affiliated institutions all receive academic credit and web visibility."
Digital Commons (University of Nebraska-Lincoln's Institutional Repository)
*The second largest OA repository in the United States.
"The repository is a collaborative service of the University of Nebraska - Lincoln libraries. Faculty, researchers, and students associated with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln are invited to deposit digital materials for long-term preservation and world-wide electronic accessibility."
Digital Mathematics Library
This database contains retrodigitized Mathematics journals and monographs.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
"Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages"
"The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains 8261 drug entries including 2021 FDA-approved small molecule drugs, 233 FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, 94 nutraceuticals and over 6000 experimental drugs. Additionally, 4338 non-redundant protein (i.e. drug target/enzyme/transporter/carrier) sequences are linked to these drug entries. Each DrugCard entry contains more than 200 data fields with half of the information being devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half devoted to drug target or protein data."
" Using eagle-i’s free software, you can collect and share information about your research resources, giving any scientist, anywhere, access to one of the largest collections of information about Core Facilities, iPS cell lines, and other valuable, unique or rare scientific resources in the world."
Einstein Archives Online
Contains digitized manuscripts, a finding aid, and an itemized database of Einstein and Einstein-related archival items: writings, professional & personal correspondence.
Encyclopedia of Life
"Our Vision: Global access to knowledge about life on Earth.
Our Mission: To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource."
"EThOS aims to provide:
A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions
Free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research."
Global ETD Search (The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD))
Search the over 6million+ and growing electronic theses and dissertations in this global archive.
"Haz-Map® is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases."
HGV Database (Human Genome Variation)
"The HGV database is a fully searchable online database of genome variations published in peer-reviewed Data Reports in Human Genome Variation
(ISSN 2054-345X). You can search and filter by different variables, including specific disease, gene, population or region."
"Hindawi publishes peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science."
John Muir Exhibit
This website by the Sierra Club features information and exhibits about the life, works, and associates of John Muir as well as tributes and other related materials.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiment) Basic Protocols
This is a link to the free basic protocols provided by JOVE, all other protocols require a subscription to access.
KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes
"The KEGG website at www.kegg.jp has become the primary site of the KEGG database developed by Kanehisa Laboratories"
KEGG pathway maps, BRITE functional hierarchies, KEGG modules
Human diseases [Cancer | Infectious disease], Drugs [ATC drug classification]
Ortholog groups [KO system], Genomes [KEGG organisms], Genes and proteins Release history
LIGAND Chemical information [Compound classification], MEDICUS Health-related information resource
Organisms, Analysis tools, KEGG Mapper, KEGG PATHWAY/BRITE/MODULE mapping tools
KEGG Atlas - Navigation tool to explore KEGG global maps, KAAS - KEGG automatic annotation server, BLAST/FASTA - Sequence
National Academies Press (NAP)
Since June 2, 2011 "all PDF versions of books published by the National Academies Press (NAP) will be downloadable to anyone free of charge. That's more than 4,000 books plus future reports produced by NAP--publisher for the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Reseasrch Council."
National Archives (NARA) of the United States
"...(NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests
National Nuclear Data Center (USA)
One stop shopping for facts, calculators, computer programs, polices, and procedures related to Nuclear Data collection from projects sponsored by the Office of Nuclear Physics, Office of Science, and U.S. Department of Energy.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
"The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). "
This database covers over 4 million thermophysical and thermochemical property data points of compounds and systems. *Please note that it provides the exact literature references, not the actual numeric values.
OATD (Open Access Thesis & Dissertations)
"OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,654,285 theses and dissertations"
Open Access Tracker
"News and comment from the worldwide movement for open access to research."
"A comprehensive and open dataset of research information covering 169m publications, 59m research data, 366k research software items, from 129k data sources, linked to 3m grants and 194k organizations."
This database is maintained by the European Union and includes dissertations and thesis as well as material types listed above.
The Open Dinosaur Project
"The Open Dinosaur Project was founded to involve scientists and the public alike in developing a comprehensive database of dinosaur limb bone measurements, to investigate questions of dinosaur function and evolution. We have three major goals:1) do good science; 2) do this science in the most open way possible; and 3) allow anyone who is interested to participate. And by anyone, we mean anyone!"
The Open Notebook: The Story Behind the Best Science Stories
"The Open Notebook is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that provides tools and resources to help science, environmental, and health journalists at all experience levels sharpen their skills."
Physical Review X
"Physical Review X (PRX) is APS’s highly selective, online-only, fully open access journal launched in May 2011. It aims to publish, as timely as possible, a limited number of papers from all areas of pure, applied, and interdisciplinary physics, that merit broad dissemination and high visibility. PRX’s mission is to disseminate innovative and impactful research advances to the broad science and engineering communities under its open access publishing model."
PLoS Public Library of Science
PLoS is a series of open access peer-reviewed journals spanning the breadth of the life sciences. It is supported by institutional subscriptions and author fees. Publication in these journals is highly competitive and many have high impact factors.
Proceedings of the Centre for Mathematics and its Applications
"The Mathematical Sciences Institute (formerly the School of Mathematical Sciences) was established in 1989 with the aim of unifying the study of mathematics across The Australian National University. MSI publishes conference and symposia proceedings as well as monographs in the Proceedings of the Centre for Mathematics and Its Applications (formerly the Proceedings of the Centre for Mathematical Analysis)."
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules through three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). Participation by publishers in PubMed Central (PMC) is voluntary, but is mandatory for authors receiving NIH funding. Users can search by subject, authors, and individual journal titles. The status and amount of a journal which is available through open access is also noted.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
"The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 12.5 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS "Bumblebee" interface as well as the traditional "Classic" search forms. A set of browsable interfaces are also available."
SciELO Brazil: Scientific Electronic Library Online
The Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals.
Please note the below content has been separated into separate sites accessible via the link for this resource. “Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Science Accelerator was developed and is made available by OSTI as a free public service.”
An open access journal publishing original research in all disciplines of science.
An open access journal publishing is all areas of the natural and clinical sciences.
Shodhganga: a reservoir of Indian Theses
Shodhganga provides a platform for research scholars to deposit their Ph.D. theses and make it available to the entire scholarly community in open access. The repository has the ability to capture, index, store, disseminate and preserve ETDs (Electronic Theses and Dissertations) submitted by the researchers.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
"SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out into other science disciplines, providing opportunities for scholars to post their early research, collaborate on theories and discoveries, and get credit for their ideas before peer reviewed publication."
An open access chemistry patent search database. Signup for free login is required.
"WikiPathways is a database of biological pathways maintained by and for the scientific community."