Skip to main content
The Ada Initiative
The organization disbanded in 2015, but their website remains a good resource!
"The Ada Initiative is a new non-profit organization dedicated to increasing participation of women in open technology and culture, which includes open source software, Wikipedia and other open data, and open social media."
"The Ada Initiative is focused on helping women get careers in open technology through recruitment and training programs for women, education for community members who want to help women, and working with corporations and projects to improve their outreach to women."
Open Source Hardware Designs with Programming
Arduino Hardware Design
"The Arduino module is a simplified microcontroller board. Although there are an increasing number of alternate form factors, the original design includes all the electronic parts necessary to power and communicate with the microcontroller: regulator, clock crystal, USB-to-serial interface, and SPI programming interface for replacing the bootloader. Alternate design should include these elements as well, or show how to add them easily."
Arduino Open Source Software
"The open-source Arduino environment makes it easy to write code and upload it to the board. It runs on Windows, Mac OS X, and Linux. The environment is written in Java and based on Processing and other open source software."
Internet Tools & Computer Programing
Analogues: a glimpse of tomorrow's climates, today
"Analogues refer to sites or years that experience conditions with statistical similarity, primarily in terms of current or future climate, but they can also include additional factors such as soils, crops, and socioeconomic characteristics. ... In essence, the approach locates a site whose climate today is similar to the given future of a place of interest (i.e. where can we find today the future climate of Nairobi, Kenya?), or vice-versa."
ChemDoodle Web Components
"Dexy helps your code to speak for itself. Show off your code with beautiful syntax highlighting. Write examples and Dexy will run them, inserting the output into any document you wish. Everything is based on live code, so updating is easy, syntax errors blow up on you, not your users, and typos are a thing of the past. With Dexy's smart caching, your code is only executed when it needs updating, saving you time while keeping your documents robust."
"Dexy is flexible enough not just to generate your documents with their dynamic content, but to do a lot more project automation and integration besides. Dexy's filters are able to run any Python code you want, so that means they can do things like interact with remote APIs, construct .tgz archives of generated files, or pretty much anything else you can think of. You aren't even limited to Python, Dexy filters can wrap an executable or run code written in another language, so you can do just about anything."
"HUBzero® is an open source software platform for building powerful Web sites that support scientific discovery, learning, and collaboration. Originally created by researchers at Purdue University in conjunction with the NSF-sponsored Network for Computational Nanotechnology to support nanoHUB.org, it now supports a wide variety of other hubs."
"A HUBzero-powered site presents a polished, organized collection of tools and resources. Under the hood, powerful middleware serves up interactive simulation sessions that display results from the HUBzero rendering farm and Cloud/Grid computing resources."
InChI (International Chemical Identifier)
"The InChI with its associated InChIKey was developed as a non-proprietary international standard to represent chemical structures and has just celebrated its tenth anniversary. The Trust aims to develop and improve on the current InChI standard, further enabling the interlinking of chemistry and chemical structures on the web."
"Project Trident: A Scientific Workflow Workbench is a set of tools based on the Windows Workflow Foundation that addresses scientists’ need for a flexible, powerful way to analyze large, diverse datasets. It includes graphical tools for creating, running, managing, and sharing workflows."
"This project is no longer active and was put into the Outercurve Project Archive on 27-06-2013."
Recollection Software Platform
"A web application developed by Zepheira for the Library of Congress National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP) which allows users to create and share embeddable interfaces to digital cultural heritage collections."