Subject and Course Guides: Biological Sciences Research Guide: Research Methods & Protocols

Research Methods & Protocols

ASMScience Laboratory protocols (American Society for Microbiology)
Bio-protocol Collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.
JoVE Science Education : Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology JoVE Science Education is a video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations. UNL subscribes to Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology module.
JoVE Video Journal (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
Nature Protocols Nature Protocols is an interactive online resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry. Protocols are presented in a 'recipe' style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures that users can take to the lab bench and immediately apply in their own research.
Nature Protocol Exchange
Protocols.io A free repository of life science research methods and collaborative protocol-centered platform.

Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
A database of step-by-step laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences, collected from Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, Methods in Molecular Biology, and other sources. Protocols are written and reviewed by experts in the field. (Full-Text)
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Note: UNL has trial access to all content on the Sage Research Methods platform through April 30, 2025.
Books, articles, and instructional videos covering research methods in the social sciences. UNL's access includes the Sage Research Methods Core and Foundation collections, Cases parts I and II, Datasets parts I and II, Market Research videos, and Practical Research and Academic Skills videos. (Full-Text and Streaming Video)

Journal of Immunological Methods
Methods in Cell Biology
Methods in Enzymology
Methods in Microbiology
Nature Methods
Organic Synthesis "A Publication of Reliable Methods for the Preparation of Organic Compounds"
Science of synthesis : Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations A collection of full-text reviews on organic synthetic methods and is a vital reference resource to the study of synthetic organic chemistry. You may search by exact or sub-structure, reaction, and keywords or browse the available volumes via detailed tables of contents. You may also search by structure drawing