Skip to Main Content

Biological Sciences Research Guide

Resources for research in Biological Sciences programs.

Biological Sciences Research Guide

Welcome to the Biological Sciences Research Guide! 
This guide provides an overview of databases, journals and other resources to assist you with your research needs.

Research questions often start with gathering BACKGROUND INFORMATION on your topic.
Find background information in books, encyclopedias and reputable websites.

After you have identified your topic you may need to find SCHOLARLY ARTICLES, i.e. journal literature, on that topic.
Use one of our many DATABASES to search for scholarly literature.

After you have gathered your research, EVALUATE the Authority, Credibility and Relevance of the information for your assignment.

Quick Start for finding articles

Here's a good place to start your search for scholarly articles, in a multidisciplinary database that covers a wide range of subject areas.
You may want to use the Limit to Peer Reviewed in your search results.

This is only one of many databases available to you.
Go to the Articles & Databases  page in this guide to find more.

Research Assistance & Consultations

Need some research help?   What questions do you have?
Please contact me if you have any questions, or want to set up an appointment for some one-on-one help.

Joan Latta Konecky.

Advising Assistance

Need some help with choosing classes, planning your degree, path finding internships or exploring your career options?

Make an appointment with one of your Major Advisors, at the Biology Advising Center, 101 Manter Hall.

                     Wendy O'Connor  and   Mikayla Tegler            (402) 472-1464             biosciadvising@unl.edu

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com