Subject and Course Guides: Dentistry: Evidence-Based Dentistry

EBD Journals

Journal of Evidence Based Dental Practice
July 1, 2001 to the present
Evidence-Based Dentistry
March 1, 2000 - (excluding the current 12 months)
Journal of Dental Research (via EBSCO Dental Source)
March 1, 1919 to present
Journal of Dental Research (via the publisher, Sage)
March 1, 1919 to present
Clinical Evidence (from PubMed Central)
2003 to present

Evidence based Dentistry Tools

ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry
This ADA EBD website is a central resource for EBD information and includes a searchable database of systematic reviews, Clinical Recommendations /Guidelines endorsed by the ADA and links to other EBD resources
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents collected by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
CATs Library (Critically Appraised Topics) - Univ of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
The CAT (Critically Appraised Topic) is a structured one-page summary and critique of the best available evidence on a focused question.
SUMSearch
SUMSearch simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from the Medline, DARE and National Guideline Clearinghouse databases.
Evidence-Based Endodontics Literature Database
Designed to be an educational evidence tool to help justify historical and current endodontic treatment decisions. Articles are selected from readings lists of endodontic programs in the United States, textbooks, and PubMed topical searches. They are categorized by subject and evidence-based ranking.
TRIP (Turn Research into Practice) Database
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
From the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (UK) DARE is focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services. The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.
CDC Division of Oral Health - Guidelines and Recommendations
Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
An independent body whose aim is to promote the teaching, learning, practice and evaluation of evidence-based dentistry world-wide.
DHNet: The National Center for Dental Hygiene Research & Practice
Located at the University of Southern California, this site offers links to good sites about evidence-based medicine, clinical trials and consumer information.
Cochrane Oral Health
Produces oral health reviews and protocols for the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. The Links section lists evidence-based dentistry and oral health journals, databases, and dental associations.

Definition of Evidence-based dentistry

The American Dental Association defines the term "evidence-based dentistry" as:

Evidence-based dentistry (EBD) is an approach to oral health care that requires the judicious integration of systematic assessments of clinically relevant scientific evidence, relating to the patient's oral and medical condition and history, with the dentist's clinical expertise and the patient's treatment needs and preferences.

EBD - Five Step Process

The Evidence Based Dentistry (EBD) process is a structured approach to identifying and using the best information relevant to a particular clinical problem:

Question
      Articulate a clear question based on your information needs
      and/or the patient's clinical problem
Find
      Conduct a comprehensive search for the latest relevant research,
       i.e. finding the best external evidence with which to answer the question
Assess
      Critically assess the evidence for its validity and usefulness
      (clinical applicability)
Act
      Apply the results of the appraisal or evidence, in clinical practice
Evaluate
      Assess the process and examining outcomes

P.I.C.O. Model

A well formed clinical question covers the following 4 areas identified by the acronym PICO.

Patient or population or problem
Intervention or exposure or prognostic factor
Comparison (not always included)
Outcome