Subject and Course Guides: Family History and Genealogy: General Databases

Public Databases

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)

Resource to Resources

Public Records - European Resources
This page lists European countries and the resources you may start with to understand naming traditions and history. Provides links to wikis, general public information.

UNL Databases

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive catalog of materials currently available in libraries worldwide. Includes books, internet resources, journals, conference papers, maps, manuscripts, music scores, sound recordings, and video recordings. Items found in WorldCat can be requested through the UNL Libraries Delivery/Interlibrary Loan service. (Index)
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of digitized books, journals, and manuscripts from libraries around the world. (Full-Text)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains House and Senate Reports and Documents, beginning with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817) through the 103rd Congress (1994). (See the American State Papers database for pre-1817 documents.) Reports are usually those from standing congressional committees. Documents include all other papers ordered printed by the Congress, covering a wide variety of topics including armed forces and conflicts, food and agriculture, Indian affairs, and international affairs. (Full-Text)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Fields of study include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Includes descriptions of archival materials and collections held by archives, libraries, museums and historical societies in the United States. (Index)