Skip to Main Content

Family History and Genealogy: Newspapers

Finding Aid

Newspapers can fill in vital events and add depth to family history. They are available in several formats- microfilm, original copies, original digital copies, OCR scanned issues, card indexes, and book indexes. (For digital copies of Lincoln newspapers, see the “major for pay” section.)

University Libraries Digital Newspapers

Finding Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes

  • Nebraska State Historical Society Library – has an extensive microfilm collection of Nebraska newspapers
  • WorldCat – includes many of the University Libraries newspapers on microfilm and microprint plus other libraries and archives holdings
  • Newspaper Offices
  • Digital State Newspaper Projects
    • E.g. - Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
  • Local Libraries and Genealogical and Historical Societies
    • E.g. - Lincoln-Lancaster Genealogical Society

Major Digital Free Sites

  • Library of Congress - Chronicling America – 1789-1924 (includes some Nebraska newspapers)
  • Elephind - More than United States, strong on Australia
  • Google News Archive - https://news.google.com/newspapers/
  • Old Fulton NY Post Cards – 40 million pages from U.S and Canada, with emphasis on New York
  • Trove - over 195 million articles from Australia

Some major for pay sites for digital newspapers

  • Newspapers.com (has many early Lincoln, Nebraska newspapers)
  • GenealogyBank.com
  • NewsBank
  • NewspaperArchive.com
  • British Newspaper Archive

 

Quick Search

Quick Search is a keyword search for books, images, journal articles and more. 

Library Essential Services

E-Resources See all article indexes and other resources

ILLiad Use Interlibrary Loan and document delivery

Refworks Set up citation tracking and formatting

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Faculty: Request custom Subject and Course Guides; link Guides to Blackboard; arrange instruction.  Contact your Subject Librarian

Ask Us

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @unl_libraries