Subject and Course Guides: VMED 688: Public Health: Find Articles

Searching CAB Abstracts & PubMed

CAB Abstracts
PubMed

CAB Abstracts is the most comprehensive database for veterinary medicine, animal science, and agriculture. CAB Abstracts indexes many U.S. and international publications, conference proceedings, and book chapters. The coverage is from 1910 to the present.

Quick Tips

Can use Boolean operators: and, or, not. For example, (cats or dogs) and diabetes (Note: The Boolean operators do not need to be capitalized.)
Use quotation marks if you're searching for an exact phrase, "animal behaviour".
Sometimes it can be helpful to truncate a search term. Use the asterisk. For example, cataract* will retrieve records with the following words:
- cataracts
- cataractogenesis
- cataractous
Because CAB Abstracts is produced in the UK, include British and American spellings (e.g. leukaemia, odour, oestrogens, haematology).
After you've done a search, you might choose to "refine" or "limit" your search (e.g. English-only articles). The "refinements" are on the left-hand side of the results screen.
Pay attention to the descriptors that are found in the citation record. Use the descriptors as search terms.

PubMed indexes the health sciences/life sciences literature. It also indexes approximately 101 veterinary medicine journals. The coverage is from the 1950s to the present.

Remember, PubMed does NOT index EVERY journal important to veterinary medicine. For example, Applied Animal Behavior Science, Bovine Practitioner, The Pig Journal, & the Journal of Swine Health & Production are NOT indexed by PubMed.

Quick Tips

Link to PubMed via the library website for linkage to full-text via the WebBridge button.
Capitalize Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
Use "Limits" if appropriate (e.g. timeframe, language, etc.).
Remember to identify synonyms for the concepts in your search statement. You may use abbreviations and complete disease names as search terms. For example, (RSV OR respiratory syncytial virus) AND (sheep OR lambs).

Demo: Using Boolean operators

Article Databases

CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health, 1910- (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and reports on the applied life sciences, agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition. (Index)
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). (Full-Text)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patent records covering the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. (Index)
Web of Science Core Collection, 1900- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. Includes the following databases: Science Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Book Citation Index – Science; Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Current Chemical Reactions; Index Chemicus. (Index)

VIN: Veterinary Information Network

VIN: Veterinary Information Network
The VIN Library is a comprehensive collection of resources and materials, compiled from many different sources over the past 20 years. Includes conference proceedings and resources related to public health/disaster management. VIN indexes over 150 journals, but you will not be able to link directly to the full-text.

Additional Information about PubMed

Guide to PubMed for Veterinarians: Provides search tips and and a list of the veterinary medicine journals indexed in PubMed. Last revised: 3/20/2015.

AVMA Collections: Zoonoses Updates

AVMA Collections: Zoonoses Updates
Collection of articles published in JAVMA. The collection was last updated in 2010. This may be a good starting point for your topic, but some articles may be a bit dated.

Clinical Guidelines/Consensus Statements

VIN: Veterinary Information Network
VIN maintains the most up-to-date list of clinical guidelines and consensus statements.
DVM360: Guidelines for veterinary clinical practice
National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians: NASPHV Compendia and Recommendations
NASPHV Compendia, white papers, and other documents provide standardized national recommendations for key zoonotic disease issues.