Subject and Course Guides: Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program: Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program Recommended Resources

Databases (Articles and Abstracts)

AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, articles, and other publications that cover all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. (Index and Abstracts)

Annual Review of Environment and Resources
"...provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change. "

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Psychology journal articles, books, reviews, dissertations, and more. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). (Index)
CEEDER Database This link opens in a new window
Database of evidence reviews and evidence overviews, including literature reviews, meta-analyses, critical reviews, systematic reviews, and rapid reviews. (Index)
Digital Commons @University of Nebraska - Lincoln This link opens in a new window
A public, full-text repository of UNL research, scholarship, and creative activity. Includes dissertations & theses, faculty publications, and more. (Full-Text)

Encyclopedia of Sustainability in Higher Education
"Comprehensively covers the whole spectrum of sustainability in higher education"

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (includes Water Resources Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and other scholarly materials on the topics of aquaculture, atmospheric pollution, climatology, geology, oceanography, marine biology, meteorology, and water quality. Includes the following subcollections: Water Resource Abstracts, Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. (Full-Text and Index)

Encyclopedia of Theory in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
Featuring more than 300 authoritative articles written by experts in their respective fields, the encyclopedia also includes a Reader’s Guide that organizes entries by broad themes; lists of Further Readings and cross-references that conclude each article; and a Resource Guide listing classic books in the field, leading journals, associations, and key websites.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, books, and other publications covering all aspects of human impact to the environment including climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (Index)

International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education
*Please note that UNL does not subscribe to this publication. To access articles that are not open access please request them through our Interlibrary Loan links.
Journal of Ecological Anthropology
"Provides a forum for exploration of the interface between humans and their sociocultural and biophysical environments."
Journal of Environmental Education
Full text from Taylor and Francis, 1997-present
Full text from EBSCO, 1994-Aug. 2015
Vols. 1-28 (1969-1997) available in print at CYT, S946 .E54
Journal of Environmental Psychology
"JEP serves those who have an interest in the scientific study of the psychological processes engaged in the reciprocal relations between individuals and the physical environment."

Lincoln Journal Star (for UNL students) This link opens in a new window
Online news, sports, entertainment, and weather updates from the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper in southeast Nebraska. Current subscription funded by ASUN Student Readership Program. Requires a UNL student email account (@huskers.unl.edu). (Full-Text)
Lincoln Journal Star (for UNL faculty and staff) This link opens in a new window
Online news, sports, entertainment, and weather updates from the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper in southeast Nebraska. Up to 5 users can access the site at one time - be sure to log out when you are done. (Full-Text)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal publications (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790), company information, and patents. (Full-Text)
Omaha World-Herald (for UNL students) This link opens in a new window
Online news, sports, entertainment, and weather updates from the Omaha World-Herald in Omaha, Nebraska. Current subscription funded by ASUN Student Readership Program. Requires a UNL student email account (@huskers.unl.edu). (Full-Text)

Review of Environmental Economics and Policy
Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists and the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists. REEP fills the gap between traditional academic journals and the general interest press by providing a widely accessible yet scholarly source for the latest thinking on environmental economics and related policy.