Subject and Course Guides: Natural Resources subject guide: Climate Sciences

Additional resources

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Climate resources from NASA

Databases useful for climate science research

AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new window
Geology and geoscience publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Primarily includes journal articles, books, and technical publications, including the AAPG Bulletin. (Full-Text)
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
ACSESS DL This link opens in a new window
Journal and ebook content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America. (Full-Text)
AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, articles, and other publications that cover all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. (Index and Abstracts)
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and authoritative critical reviews of the primary research literature, focusing on the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. (Full-Text)
Biological Abstracts, 1926- (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Articles from life sciences journals, covering topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. (Index)
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. (Full-Text)
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Available to all UNL users on-campus. Access available off campus to law faculty, law staff and law students with a Bloomberg Law account and password.
Provides access to legal, tax, regulatory, and business information. Researchers can access timely information compiled and created by reporters, attorneys, and editors. The database delivers expert in-depth analysis, news, practice tools, and access to primary legal materials including cases, statutes, and regulations. Content is organized into a number of topical areas such as corporate and business, environmental, health care, intellectual property, and tax. (Full-Text)
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journal and magazine articles on business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance. (Full-Text)
CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health, 1910- (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and reports on the applied life sciences, agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition. (Index)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and almanacs. (Full-Text)
Dissertations, University of Nebraska-Lincoln This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses published at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (Full-Text)
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (includes Water Resources Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and other scholarly materials on the topics of aquaculture, atmospheric pollution, climatology, geology, oceanography, marine biology, meteorology, and water quality. Includes the following subcollections: Water Resource Abstracts, Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. (Full-Text and Index)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journal articles and research on ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic and marine biology. Includes some major fish and fisheries databases, such as FISHLIT, Aquatic Biology Citations, Fishing Industry Research Index, and the Fisheries Review. (Full-Text and Index)
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. (Full-Text)
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, serials, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports in the fields of geology and geophysics, including information on energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics. (Index)
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the geosciences. (Full-text)
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, books, and other publications covering all aspects of human impact to the environment including climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (Index)
Grow: Plant Health Exchange This link opens in a new window
Information resources on plant health. Includes webcasts and links to resources regarding crops and pollinators. (Audio)
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Millions of digitized books, journals, and manuscripts from libraries around the world. (Full-Text)
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal information including law periodicals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports of the Supreme Court, famous world trials, legal classics from the 16th to 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the Code of Federal Regulations from inception in 1938, and much more. (Full-Text)
Journal Citation Reports (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Information about academic journals in the sciences and social sciences, including impact factors, a measure that reflects the number of citations to articles published in a particular journal.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal publications (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790), company information, and patents. (Full-Text)
Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news articles from local, regional, national, and international publications. Includes the Lincoln Journal Star (1995-), Omaha World-Herald (1885-), Omaha Star (1938-), and other local Nebraska newspapers. (Full-Text)
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, papers, and data on agriculture, education, employment, environment, finance, transport, and more. Most content is available to read online; content published up to September 1, 2020 can also be downloaded for offline use. (Full-Text)
Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 [Nebraska] This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps. They provide detailed information on buildings and structures in Nebraskan cities, as well as street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
ScienceDirect Collections This link opens in a new window
General entry point to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries. Covers life sciences, physical sciences, medicine, technology, social sciences and humanities. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
SORA This link opens in a new window
International ornithological literature covering the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. Key journals include Journal of Field Ornithology, North American Bird Bander, Studies in Avian Biology, and Wilson Bulletin. (Full-Text)
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
General entry point to Springer publications - journals and books in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Toxnet This link opens in a new window
Note: The content previously available via Toxnet has been reorganized and moved to other sites. This page provides links to the pages that are now hosting various types of toxicology information.
A publicly available government resource that provides access to a group of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related information. It includes HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Info System), TRI (Toxic Release Inventory), TOXLINE (journal articles about toxic substances), and other related databases. TOXNET features TOXMAP, maps depicting toxic chemical locations across the United States.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) This link opens in a new window
Contains House and Senate Reports and Documents, beginning with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817) through the 103rd Congress (1994). (See the American State Papers database for pre-1817 documents.) Reports are usually those from standing congressional committees. Documents include all other papers ordered printed by the Congress, covering a wide variety of topics including armed forces and conflicts, food and agriculture, Indian affairs, and international affairs. (Full-Text)

USDA Current Research Information System (CRIS)
The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.

Web of Science Core Collection, 1900- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. Includes the following databases: Science Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Book Citation Index – Science; Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Current Chemical Reactions; Index Chemicus. (Index)
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive catalog of materials currently available in libraries worldwide. Includes books, internet resources, journals, conference papers, maps, manuscripts, music scores, sound recordings, and video recordings. Items found in WorldCat can be requested through the UNL Libraries Delivery/Interlibrary Loan service. (Index)