Subject and Course Guides: Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon 2025: Where to Research

Local Resources

Nebraska Newspapers
Nebraska Newspapers is a collaborative site developed by the University of Nebraska–Lincoln and History Nebraska. It presents many resources relating to the state's papers and the history of Nebraska newspaper publishing, including searchable full-text of selected newspapers published as early as 1854. Editorials cover ethnic, social, political, and economic viewpoints from various regions of the state.

Nebraska State Historical Society Library/Archives This link opens in a new window
Search the Library/Archives of the Nebraska State Historical Society. Indexes books, newspapers, maps, photographs, government records, sound and video recordings, microfilm, and more. (Index)

Nebraska Blue Book (Older Editions)
The Blue Book is Nebraska's official reference manual, with information about the state's government, geography, economy, history and culture.
NebraskaAccess
Access to premium research databases, available exclusively to Nebraska residents, as well as additional sources of information about Nebraska that anyone can use.

Online Libraries, Museums, & Databases

Biographical Dictionaries Women
List of open and accessible biographical resources, compiled by Wikipedia.
Black Women's Suffrage
The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
National Women's History Museum
An online museum dedicated to women's history in the United States.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
The National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress. The collection consists of a variety of materials including newspapers, books, pamphlets, memorials, scrapbooks, and proceedings from the meetings of various women's organizations that document the suffrage fight.
Women & the American Story
Women & the American Story (WAMS) is a free curriculum website from the New-York Historical Society, connecting the public with resources that illuminate diverse women's contributions to the American past.
Women's History Month (.gov)
Browse exhibits, collections, and educational resources compiled from national federal museums
Women Working, 1800-1930
An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent index contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Archives Library Information Center (ALIC)
The ALIC is more than a traditional library. These pages are designed to provide National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) researchers nationwide with convenient access to content beyond the physical holdings of our traditional library. The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, ALIC presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.

Biographical Sources: Databases

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Biographical profiles from magazines, journals, books, and more. Includes material from Current Biography, World Authors, Biography Index, and Junior Authors & Illustrators. (Full-Text)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a variety of biographical resources relevant to women's history. Titles include A to Z of Women: Women in Science and Math, From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women and more.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. (Full-Text)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and almanacs. (Full-Text)
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. (Full-Text)

Databases for Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journal articles focusing on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. (Index)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Academic journals, books, magazines, dissertations, and conference papers covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. (Index)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Fields of study include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.

Primary Source Collections

Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news articles from local, regional, national, and international publications. Includes the Lincoln Journal Star (1995-), Omaha World-Herald (1885-), Omaha Star (1938-), and other local Nebraska newspapers. (Full-Text)
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Periodicals by and about African Americans, from pre-Civil War through the modern era. Includes journals, magazines, newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other publications. Titles include African Repository, El Mulato, The Black Warrior, Pennsylvania Freedmen’s Bulletin, and more. (Full-Text)
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Also available on the Gale platform. (Full-Text)
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Digitized Native American newspapers covering the years 1828-2016. (Full-Text)
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Modern and historical essays, journals, newspapers, fiction, literature, and poetry on the African diaspora experience. Includes the historical Chicago Defender newspaper. Material comes from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. (Full-Text)
Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Primary source books, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides covering American popular culture, social history, family life, education, race, class, and employment from 1800-1920. (Full-Text)
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials, focusing on the humanities and social sciences. (Full-Text)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Entry point for searching articles in digital reproductions of nine historical newspapers, including the Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Guardian, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. (Full-Text)
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and more during the latter half of the 20th century. (Full-Text)
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, court records, and more covering the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. (Full-Text)
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material covering women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes "document projects" collecting documents that address specific interpretive questions. (Full-Text)

E-Book Collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences. (Full-Text)
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Ebooks on a variety of topics. Includes mostly academic works, along with some novels and poetry. (Full-Text)
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Millions of digitized books, journals, and manuscripts from libraries around the world. (Full-Text)
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on a variety of academic topics. (Full-Text)

Books in Our Catalog

Below are selected books in the University Libraries' holdings on topics related to women's history including, women's rights and reform movements as well as notable leaders and activists.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Latinas in the United States, Set by Vicki L. Ruiz (Editor); Virginia Sánchez Korrol (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253111692
Publication Date: 2006-05-03
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia records the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States. From mestizo settlement, pioneer life, and diasporic communities, the encyclopedia details the contributions of women as settlers, comadres, and landowners, as organizers and nuns. More than 200 scholars explore the experiences of Latinas during and after EuroAmerican colonization and conquest; the early-19th-century migration of Puerto Ricans and Cubans; 20th-century issues of migration, cultural tradition, labor, gender roles, community organization, and politics; and much more. Individual biographical entries profile women who have left their mark on the historical and cultural landscape.
The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History by Wilma Pearl Mankiller (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998
The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History gathers together many articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past. Written by more than 300 contributors, drawn from various areas of expertise, these narrative and interpretive entries touch on topics such as cowgirls and child care, on the daily lives of single women and the changing notions of motherhood, on the artistic contributions of women of color and the history of Jewish feminism.
Women in the American Civil War [2 Volumes] by Lisa Tendrich Frank (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851096053
Publication Date: 2007-12-03
Most Americans can name famous generals and notable battles from the Civil War. With rare exception, they know neither the women of that war nor their part in it. Yet, as this encyclopedia demonstrates, women played a critical role. The book's 400 A-Z entries focus on specific people, organizations, issues, and battles, and a dozen contextual essays provide detailed information about the social, political, and family issues that shaped women's lives during the Civil War era. Women in the American Civil War satisfies a growing interest in this topic. Readers will learn how the Civil War became a vehicle for expanding the role of women in society. Representing the work of more than 100 scholars, this book treats in depth all aspects of the previously untold story of women in the Civil War.
U. S. Women's History by Leslie Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813575865
Publication Date: 2017-01-25
Including work from both emerging and established scholars, this collection employs innovative approaches to study both the causes that have united American women and the conflicts that have divided them. Spanning the antebellum era to the present day, these essays vividly convey the long histories and ongoing relevance of topics ranging from women's immigration to incarceration, from acts of cross-dressing to the activism of feminist mothers.
Women and Freedom in Early America by Larry Eldridge (Editor)
ISBN: 9780814721933
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Women and Freedom in Early America centers variously on European-American, African-American, and Native American women from 1400 to 1800. Spanning almost half a millenium, the book ranges the colonial terrain, from New France and the Iroquois Nations down through the mainland British-American colonies. By drawing on a wide array of sources, including church and court records, correspondence, journals, poetry, and newspapers, these essays examine Puritan political writings, white perceptions of Indian women, Quaker spinsterhood, and African and Iroquois mythology, among many other topics.
Citizenship and the Origins of Women's History in the United States by Teresa Anne Murphy
ISBN: 9780812208283
Publication Date: 2019-09-27
Teresa Anne Murphy traces the evolution of women's history from the late eighteenth century to the time of the Civil War, demonstrating that competing ideas of women's citizenship had a central role in the ways those histories were constructed. This intellectual history examines the concept of domestic citizenship that was promoted in the popular writing of Sarah Josepha Hale and Elizabeth Ellet and follows the threads that link them to later history writers, such as Lydia Maria Child and Carolyn Dall, who challenged those narratives and laid the groundwork for advancing a more progressive woman's rights agenda.