Subject and Course Guides: TMFD 407/807 The History of Dress: Primary Resources- History and Fashion Primary source databases and lists

Accessing the Library Databases and Journals

Library Journals and Magazines
Use Browzine to find the journals and magazines that are available online and in print in all of the UNL libraries.
Library Databases
The Libraries has over 400 databases. Search for a database by type: "Archival, Historical and Primary Sources"

Fashion Databases: Scholarly and Peer Reviewed Articles and more

Art Abstracts (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film and architecture. Includes journals and dissertations. (Index and Abstracts)
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Explores fashion and dress across cultures and throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, ebooks, images from museum exhibitions, and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search "Cultural Studies" topics to locate books related to the history of fashion. Books are available as downloadable PDF files.

Primary Sources: Print and Electronic Magazines (Full and Partial Runs)

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Primary sources documenting the history of the African American community. Includes pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports, and oral histories. Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and North Carolina. (Full-Text and Images)
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Periodicals by and about African Americans, from pre-Civil War through the modern era. Includes journals, magazines, newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other publications. Titles include African Repository, El Mulato, The Black Warrior, Pennsylvania Freedmen’s Bulletin, and more. (Full-Text)
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full text of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair (1859-1863)and Ladies' Home Journal (1884-1907), The Ladies' Home Journal and Practical Housekeeper (1807-1927); McClures Magazine
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Contains access to Newspapers and a few Womens magazines.
Myra's Journal of Dress and Fashion
British Library Newspapers
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
The Sunday Times Historical Archive
The Times Digital Archive
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Large collection of Digital books. Log in (Top right-hand corner) using your UNL ID and password.
Temporary Access: This allows you to search the document. Select "Check Out" to view the book.
Full View: This also allows you to view and download a scan of the actual document.
This resources also provides access to PDF's of the following Journals (incomplete runs)
*Ladies Home Journal
*Good Housekeeping
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. (Index)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Entry point for searching articles in digital reproductions of nine historical newspapers, including the Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Guardian, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. (Full-Text)
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
A non-profit digital library of books, video and audio recordings, and archived web pages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Indexes articles in magazines and scholarly journals, from 1890-1982. (Index)

Digital Collections of National, State and University Libraries and Historical Societies

University of Nebraska Digital Collections
Digital Collections of the University of Nebraska Libraries
The Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library
Digital Collections from the University of Virginia
University of Chicago Collections and Exhibits
Collections from the University of Chicago Libraries
CARLI Digital Collections
Collections from member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
New York Digital Library
Collections from the New York Public Libraries
Library of Congress Digital Collection
Digital collections from the LIbrary of Congress
Library of Congress: Chronicling America: Historical Newspapers
Collection of America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963
Digital Bodlean
Digital collections from the Bodleian LIbrary
British Library Open Image Collections
Collections from the British Library
Smithsonian Library Digital Collections
Collections from the Smithsonian Library
DigiVat Lib
Collections from the Vatican Library
Columbia University Digital Collections and Exhibits
The Digital Collections of Columbia University LIbraries
Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
Digital Collections of the Thomas FIsher Rare Book Library and other digital collections from the University of Toronto.