Different stages of the research process require different types and approaches to information gathering. Early in the process, it can be a challenge to know how to get started on finding the core information, and it's also easy to fall into research rabbit holes. Attend this unworkshop to hear and share about resources, strategies, and lessons learned for finding your way to the fundamental information that will provide a solid basis for subsequent stages of your research.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are good at providing succinct coverage of larger topics. They are ideal for gleaning a "bigger picture" surrounding the issues you wish to research.
Review Articles
Handbooks, Sourcebooks, Yearbooks & Manuals
These reference titles are similar to subject encyclopedias or dictionaries in that they provide background information, facts, and figures about a field or industry.
Websites
A simple Google search can yield an enormous number of results worthy of consideration for background information. Many will provide basic overviews of a topic or discuss popular opinion on a current issue.
Dissertations
A list of all available databases may be found on the Databases LibGuide. They are arranged Alphabetically, by Subject, by Type, by Vendor and the list can be Searched.
To find what Databases index a particular Journal, use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory plug in the Journal title and look under Abstracting and Indexing.
Remember as you search, you can learn from your results. Look at the full records of on target articles and at the subjects, keywords, descriptors used. Are there ones you have not used? You can plug those in to search and perhaps find more research on your topic?
One good article can lead to others. Take a look at the article's References cited. Use the Web of Science Core Collection or Scopus database to plug the article into a Cited Reference Search to find if it has been cited by other researchers.
