Subject and Course Guides: Beginning Your Research in English (Fall 2020): Best Bets for Literature Databases

Using Google Scholar?

Make sure to set your Google Scholar library preferences so you can get the full text of articles through University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries subscriptions.

From the Scholar homepage:

click Settings
select Library Links
search for University of Nebraska-Lincoln
look for the "Find This for Me" link on your results page

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An uncurated index of scholarly literature from all disciplines. Use this proxy link to ensure access to full text content courtesy of UNL Libraries.

Pro Tip: How to Get the Full Text

Not every database will provide the full text of every article you find, but don't let that stop you. If you aren't instantly connected to the article's full text, keep an eye out for the Find This for Me link:

If you still can't get access, request it through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Electronic Journals

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Read academic journals on your computer, iOS, or Android device. (Full-Text)

Arts & Humanities Journals in Browzine
Follow this link to see all of the journals in the arts and humanities available in Browzine and to narrow to other fields and areas of inquiry.
more...less...
Searching Browzine does *not* search journal articles. It helps you find complete journals that are in your topic area (for example, American literature).

Full-Text Databases with Coverage in Literature/Literary Studies

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Fields of study include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)

Comprehensive Index with Some Full-Text

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is the most comprehensive index of scholarship on literature and language and includes scholarship on linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, composition and rhetoric, and more. Some full-text is immediately available from within the bibliography, and many other resources are accessible via the "Find This for Me" link included with each item. See more about "Find this For Me" in the "Pro Tip: How to Get Full Text" box on this page. Note that during COVID-19 closures, the University Libraries will not be able to provide access to physical materials.