For accessing most of the resources linked from this page--as well as others you will uncover during the course of your research--you will need to have two account logins/passwords. One is your general UNL login that is needed to sign in to the library catalog, and the other is a delivery, or interlibrary loan, account. To learn more and set up your Delivery/Interlibrary Loan account, complete these two tutorials: Saving Search Results and Managing Your Library Account and Delivery Services Account.
Top Databases for Educational Research
Note: The availability and content of resources hosted or produced by the U.S. federal government may be affected by changes in government management and funding. Funding for ERIC is scheduled to run out on April 23, 2025, and updates to content may cease as a result.
Education research and information published in journal articles, books, conference and policy papers, reports, and more. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. (Full-Text and Index)
Most Popular Databases at UNL
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)
There are multiple pathways in to finding resources in the University Libraries. The Libraries' catalog includes descriptive information for all of the physical materials owned by the UNL Libraries (except for non-book materials in Archives & Special Collections). You can use the "Quick Search" on the Libraries' homepage, but you'll also want to try out the Advanced Search. Each of these searches have their own strengths and weaknesses, and advanced researchers will want to work across them. Here are a few places to start:
Exploring Subject Headings
One way to access print and electronic resources in the UNL Libraries is to view resources by subject. The links below will take you to subject listings relevant to writing and to teaching English. You will see that some of the subjects are broad--such as Creative Writing--and others are much more specific, for example, Creative Writing Study and Teaching.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
