Subject and Course Guides: ENGL 967: Contemporary Fiction and Globalism: Home

Journals

The list below includes some journals related to globalism, world literature, and postcolonial studies that are available via the University Libraries or open access platforms. This list is not comprehensive of all journals potentially relevant to contemporary fiction and globalism. For additional ideas, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Ariel
Electronic access from 2014 - current through the UNL Libraries. 1970-2014 are available in print in the UNL Libraries (https://library.unl.edu/record=b1135727). Request delivery for articles from print journals, if you don't want to visit the stacks.
Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction
Electronic access via UNL Libraries from 1956 - current.
Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies
Available electronically via the UNL Libraries from 1991 - current.
Journal of Commonwealth Literature
The Journal of Commonwealth Literature is internationally recognized as the leading critical and bibliographic forum in the field of Commonwealth and postcolonial literatures. It provides an essential, peer-reveiwed, reference tool for scholars, researchers, and information scientists. Available electronically via the UNL Libraries from 1966 - current.
Journal of Narrative Theory
Elextronic access via UNL Libraries from 1999 - current.
Journal of Postcolonial Writing
Electronic access via UNL Libraries from 2005 - current.
Mosaic
A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal for the comparative study of literature and ideas. Available electronically via UNL Libraries from 1967 - 2000, and 2011 - current.
Postcolonial Studies
Electronic access from UNL Libraries, 1998 - current.
Postcolonial Text
Postcolonial Text is a refereed open access journal that publishes articles, book reviews, interviews, poetry and fiction on postcolonial, transnational, and indigenous themes.
Transnational Literature
Transnational Literature was an open access, refereed international e-journal published twice a year by the Flinders Institute for Research in the Humanities, Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia. Transnational Literature maintains a focus on new literatures in English, but expanded its portfolio to consider all literatures that deal with cross-cultural contact and interaction. 2008-2018
Transnational Literature-Current
An open access, peer reviewed, international journal that is published by the Research Center for Transcultural Creativity and Education (TRACE) at Bath Spa University. Publishes two issues per year. 2019-Current
Wasafiri
Available electronically via the UNL Libraries from 1997 - current. Older issues are available in print via the UNL Libraries (articles may be requested via Delivery, if you prefer not to go to the stacks).
World Literature Today
Electronic access via UNL Libraries from 1997 - current.

Using the Libraries' Catalog

There are multiple pathways in to finding resources in the University Libraries. The Libraries' catalog includes descriptive information for all of the physical materials owned by the UNL Libraries (except for non-book materials in Archives & Special Collections). You can use the "Quick Search" on the Libraries' homepage, but you'll also want to try out the Advanced Search. Each of these searches have their own strengths and weaknesses, and advanced researchers will want to work across them. Here are a few places to start:

Quick Search
Use the Quick Search on the Libraries homepage when you either know something very specific that you're looking for (such as the title of a book) or if you are trying to see at a glance what might be available on a particular topic. Quick Search pulls in results for books, journal titles, and similar information, as well as results for some articles and other electronic resources. While the number of results you get might make Quick Search look comprehensive, don't be fooled--for advanced research, you'll need to go well beyond the Quick Search box on the homepage.
Commonwealth Literature Subject Heading
For a course that focuses on Contemporary Fiction and Globalism, no one subject heading can adequately represent the resources available that are relevant to the range of themes examined in the course. However, the subject "Commonwealth Literature" is a helpful place to start, both in the UNL Libraries catalog and in databases such as WorldCat. This link will take you to a listing of subjects in the Libraries' "Classic Catalog" that begin with the subject "Commonwealth Literature." You will see that some of the subjects are broad--such as "Commonwealth Literature"--while others are more specific (e.g., "Commonwealth Literature English History and Criticism").

Some suggested key words and search terms to get you started:

transnationalism in literature
literature and globalization
postcolonialism in literature
commonwealth literature
- commonwealth literature and 21st century
multiculturalism in literature
anglophone novel
- anglophone novel and 21st century
diasporic experience
- migration in literature

Databases of Scholarship (Books, Articles, and More)

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, books, dissertations, and other materials on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, the historical aspects of printing and publishing, rhetoric and composition, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. (Full-Text & Index)
Project MUSE
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Fields of study include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
JSTOR
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Humanities International Index
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journals, magazines, books, essays, reviews, and more covering content in the humanities. (Index)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)

WorldCat

WorldCat
A comprehensive catalog of materials currently available in libraries worldwide. Includes books, internet resources, journals, conference papers, maps, manuscripts, music scores, sound recordings, and video recordings. Items found in WorldCat can be requested through the UNL Libraries Delivery/Interlibrary Loan service. (Index)

Librarian

Janel Simons

Email Me

Contact:

UNL Libraries is here to support your research and learning needs - please contact me for help.

Subjects: Dance, English Language And Literatures, Fine and Performing Arts, Humanities, Music

ENGL 967: Contemporary Fiction and Globalism: Home

Libraries Accounts You Will Need

Journals

Using the Libraries' Catalog

Databases of Scholarship (Books, Articles, and More)

WorldCat

Librarian