Access to older issues of newspapers is available through both library databases and privately funded projects that then make the archives freely available online. The commercial database products do have the benefit of enhanced searching and output capabilities, but depending on the newspaper you are researching, you may use both sources. Some of the collections are newspaper-specific, while others include newspapers along with other types of periodicals.
Library Databases
Local, regional, and national newspapers both promoting and opposing white nationalism and Ku Klux Klan activities across the U.S. in the 1920s. (Full-Text)
Web Sites
From 2007 to the present, the National Digital Newspaper Program: Nebraska has been digitizing historically significant Nebraska newspapers and making them freely available online.
The Library of Congress' Chronicling America project is the larger umbrella under which the Nebraska Newspapers activity falls. Chronicling America includes historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 from across the country. Because of the enormous scope of the project, many newspapers are only selectively digitized, but the site is still extremely useful in presenting examples of news coverage from different cities and states across time.
Early issues of the Daily Nebraskan were digitized as part of the Nebraska Newspaper Project.
Although we do have digital archive access to many newspapers, there are newspapers for which we have only microform or microfilm access for older issues. For more information, consult the following link:
