Subject and Course Guides: Newspapers: Current News

Local (Lincoln) Newspapers

Local newspapers include those published in Lincoln.

Library Databases

Access World News - Historical and Current
This library database provides access to articles from the Lincoln Journal Star from 1996 - present and from the Web Edition from 2003 - present. It includes only articles written by local staff, and not articles that might have been republished from other sources in the print edition. You can also access articles from the UNL campus newspaper, the Daily Nebraskan (2012 - ).
Nexis Uni
This database also allows you to search the contents of the Lincoln Journal Star and the Daily Nebraskan. Unlike Access World News, however, the focus of the resource is not solely on newspapers, and it contains many other types of new sources, so the searching process is a little less straightforward.

Web Sites

Lincoln Journal Star (for UNL students)
This link will take you to instructions on how to create a Lincoln Journal Star account using your @huskers.unl.edu email account.
This is the official web site for the Lincoln Journal Star. You can search the site for articles and will be able to view any corresponding images, photos, etc. However, the search interface is not very sophisticated, so you cannot conduct a very complex search. There are also some limits imposed by the site that restrict how you view the articles.
Lincoln Journal Star (for UNL faculty and staff)
This link will take you to a page with login information for the Lincoln Journal Star website. Only 10 people can use the site at once, so please log out when you are done.
This is the official web site for the Lincoln Journal Star. You can search the site for articles and will be able to view any corresponding images, photos, etc. However, the search interface is not very sophisticated, so you cannot conduct a very complex search. There are also some limits imposed by the site that restrict how you view the articles.

The Daily Nebraskan
This is the DN's own site and includes articles printed in their month magazine as well as the articles that are published online. The site also includes multimedia content, such as videos and photos.
DailyER
The DailyER is UNL's satirical "news zine that presents material in a false or comical light."

Nebraska Newspapers

Library Databases

Access World News - Historical and Current
This database is a great source for Nebraska newspapers. It currently includes 39 "Nebraska News Sources," ranging from the Ashland Gazette to the York News-Times. Most importantly, it provides full-text access to the Omaha World-Herald. Again, this is a text-based database, so the articles will be lacking any sort of accompanying photographs or other visual materials.

Web Sites

The Nebraska News Map is a project from the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications. It "aims to document the local news health of Nebraska by mapping the location of full-time and part-time local journalists as well as local news organizations including newspapers, broadcast and digital outlets to get a clearer picture of local news access and the characteristics of those communities with robust and also lacking local news options."

https://newsmap.unl.edu/

For other Nebraska newspapers, you can always do a quick Google search on [name of town] newspaper to find the web site. Keep in mind that some smaller newspapers do not make their online content freely available, and a subscription may be required to read the articles. Also, the newspapers' own sites might be great for browsing current news, but the search capabilities often don't match those of the library databases.

[example search] "north platte" newspaper

North Platte Telegraph

Omaha World-Herald (for UNL students)
This link will take you to instructions on how to create an Omaha World-Herald account using your @huskers.unl.edu email account.

Omaha World-Herald web site
The Omaha World Herald's web site is an excellent source of news and provides not only article texts but also any accompanying multimedia content.

U.S. Newspapers (National)

National Newspapers

A national newspaper is defined as one that is circulated throughout the whole country, with a greater reputation and reach than a local newspaper that serves a city or region. Newspapers in the U.S. that might be considered "national" to some degree include:

The New York Times
The Washington Post
The Wall Street Journal
The Los Angeles Time
The Chicago Tribune
The Miami Herald
The Boston Globe

Library Databases

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni is probably the prime source for current news from national newspapers. It currently includes text-only articles from the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and USA Today, along with many other news sources.
New York Times
Access to the New York Times website, available to current UNL students, faculty, and staff. First-time users must use this link to register a personal account: select the University of Nebraska-Lincoln as your school, then follow the steps to create your account. Subsequently, the personal login can be used at the New York Times website. Funding for this subscription is provided by ASUN student government. (Full-Text)
Wall Street Journal
Access to the Wall Street Journal website, available to current UNL students, faculty, and staff. First-time users must use this link to register a personal account using a unl.edu email address. Subsequently, the personal login can be used at the Wall Street Journal website. Funding for this subscription is provided by ASUN student government. (Full-Text)

To look at the Wall Street Journal's digital microfilm (which is basically a searchable, browsable digital replica of the print newspaper), click on this link:

Digital microfilm of the WSJ

U.S. Newspapers (City & Regional)

Library Databases

Access World News - Historical and Current
In addition to Nebraska newspapers, Access World News allows you to search for articles from newspapers across the U.S. One interesting feature is a map search where you can click on a state and see a list of all of the newspapers from cities in that state. You can also, of course, simply search by the name of the newspaper to see if it is covered by the database. Newspapers run the gamut from, for example, the Kansas City Star (Kansas City, MO) to the Mexico Ledger (Mexico, MO).

Web Sites

For major papers to which we don't have database access (e.g., the Miami Herald), it might be worthwhile to look at the newspaper's web site for current news. Again, some newspapers have strict firewalls that limit access to full articles to subscribers. In addition, the search engine used to look for articles by keyword/topic may be quite rudimentary, or the online access to older articles may be limited.

Beyond the Mainstream Media

Ethnic media is media created by and/or for a particular ethnic minority group or ethnic minority community. It can often be useful to compare how current events are covered by the mainstream and ethnic presses.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)
Access World News - Historical and Current
This database also has a sub-set of ethnic newspapers that you can search separately from the rest of the collection. Look for the heading for 'Ethnic Sources.' 'Acceda Noticias' is another sub-set of the collection that is comprised of only Spanish-language newspapers, both within the U.S. and from around the world.