Subject and Course Guides: ENGL 254: Exploring Local Cultures: Resources @ University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries

General-Purpose Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Biographical profiles from magazines, journals, books, and more. Includes material from Current Biography, World Authors, Biography Index, and Junior Authors & Illustrators. (Full-Text)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)

Sociology Databases
A list of sociology databases at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
Statistical Databases
A list of statistical databases at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries Research Guides
Guides for many subjects, curated by University of Nebraska-Lincoln librarians.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Archives and Special Collections
Rare and historical materials related to Nebraska and University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Univeristy of Nebraska-Lincoln Digital Collections

Digital Commons @University of Nebraska - Lincoln This link opens in a new window
A public, full-text repository of UNL research, scholarship, and creative activity. Includes dissertations & theses, faculty publications, and more. (Full-Text)
Image & Multimedia Collections This link opens in a new window
Images compiled by the University of Nebraska Libraries and other university departments. Images depict Sheldon Art Gallery collections, Nebraska history, Plains tribes, opera scores from the Rokahr Family Archive, architecture, agriculture, textiles, wildlife, and much more. (Images)

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Historic Buildings
Take a virtual tour of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus and learn about its architectural history.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Yearbooks
Images of all University of Nebraska-Lincoln yearbooks--some of them have searchable text.

Specific Journals on Popular Culture

Search the following titles in the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Journal Finder:

Journal of Popular Culture
Journal of American Culture
Journal of American Studies
Journal of Religion and Popular Culture
Studies in Popular Culture

Read these for free online:

Books

Polk City Directories
These books can help you find historical information on local cities, including the history of who has lived at a particular address.

Primary Source Databases

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Videos covering United States history, including profiles of American leaders and personalities, archival footage of historic events, and the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel. All of the films include full-text transcripts. (Streaming Video)
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Documentation of Native American history in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the 16th century through late 20th century. Includes manuscripts, artwork, photographs, treaties, speeches, diaries, historic maps, travel journals, and rare books. (Full-Text and Images)
Dissertations and Theses (includes Dissertation Abstracts International) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from United States and international institutions. Access full text through interlibrary loan; some dissertations are also available free online. (Index)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Millions of digitized books, journals, and manuscripts from libraries around the world. (Full-Text)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Entry point for searching articles in digital reproductions of nine historical newspapers, including the Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Guardian, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. (Full-Text)
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and more during the latter half of the 20th century. (Full-Text)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal publications (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790), company information, and patents. (Full-Text)
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the printed New York Times, covering issues published from 1851 to 3 years ago. All pages, including advertising, photos and graphics are included. (Full-Text)
Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 [Nebraska] This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps. They provide detailed information on buildings and structures in Nebraskan cities, as well as street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.