Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Games and Toys: War Games

A guide to the various games, kits, and ephemera the UN-L Libraries have available for checkout and use.

Books and Articles

Books

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries has an excellent book on war games:

Peter P. Perla
      The Art of Wargaming: a guide for professionals and hobbyists
            Annapolis, MD:  The Naval Institute Press, 1990
            LDRF U310 .P45 1990

Many other books on war games and related subjects are available.  A search of the library catalog for the subject "war games" is an effective way to find books on the subject.

Books, theses, and dissertations available in libraries around the world are listed in the WorldCat database.   Books listed in WorldCat which are not available in the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries can be easily requested through Interlibrary loan.   A "Request via ILL..." link is available in the detailed citations for each entry.

Articles

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries

Searching article indexes like JSTOR, Academic Search Premier, and the Military and Government Collection will yield many articles on war gaming or on particular games.  Articles in JSTOR are available in full text.   Some articles in Academic Search Complete and Military and Government Collection are available in full text.   You easily order articles listed in Academic Search Premier or the Military and Government Collection which are not available in full text by using the "WebBridge" link and then clicking on the "Interlibrary Loan Request" option.   Interlibrary Loan is fast and free to N-Card holders.

Internet Resources

Two resources from military libraries are particularly useful for searching for information about war games. 

The Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI)

Since those indexes are not available through the Univeristy Libraries, you will need to use the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries Interlibrary Loan system to request articles identified using AULIMP or SCAMPI.

Online Books

An official publication of the US Naval War College is available:

Francis McHugh
     Fundamentals of War Gaming, 3rd ed
         Washington: GPO, 1966

A couple of books describing early US war games have been made available online: 

William Chamberlaine
    Coast Artillery War Game, 4th ed
         Washington: GPO, 1916

The Camberlaine book is an official War Department document intended as a text book for training officers in the Coast Artillery Corps of the US Army.   Chamberlaine was a Major in the Coastal Artillery Corps.

Charles A.L. Totten
     Strategos:  a series of American games of war...
         New York:  C. Appleton and Company, 1880.

The use of the book by the US Army was endorsed by the Secretary of War.  Totten was a US Army Artillery Corps officer.

Subject Guide

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com