Skip to Main Content
This resources guide provides an overview of databases, books and other resources for students taking courses in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Teacher Education. It highlights the main databases and handbooks, in addition to providing some basic research tips and resources.
Quick Search is a keyword search for books, images, journal articles and more.
Library Essential Services
Finding Resources in Love Library
Books located in the library collection are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Most of the materials associated with Education will have the following numbers
Education:L (Location-Love South Basement and BA,)
Children's: Literature: PN (Location - Love North Basement)
Print version through ILL/ Document Delivery
If the book is not in our catalog you may request the item through our Document Delivery form. Libraries staff will retrieve the book from our shelves and you will be able to pick up the book at the closest library location.
The University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries have a large collection of Education handbooks. Use the 'Quick Search' to search the catalog for 'education handbooks'. Below are a few selected handbooks.
Collaborative Learning Techniques by
A guide to thirty-five creative assignments for pairs and groups Collaborative Learning Techniques is the bestseller that college and university faculty around the world have used to help them make the most of small group learning.
Call Number: LB1032 .B318 2014 ( Location-CYT)
Publication Date: 2014-08-11
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Action Research by
This handbook presents and critiques predominant and emergent traditions of Educational Action Research internationally. Now a prominent methodology, Educational Action Research is well suited to exploring, developing and sustaining change processes both in classrooms and whole organisations such as schools, Departments of Education, and many segments of universities. The handbook contains theoretical and practical based chapters by highly respected scholars whose work has been seminal in building knowledge and expertise in the field. It also contains chapters exemplifying the work of prominent practitioner and community groups working outside universities. The Editors provide an introduction and conclusion, as well as an opening chapter which charts the historical development of action research and provides an analysis of its underlying theories. The handbook is organized into four sections, each beginning with a short introduction: " Action research methodology: diversity of rationales and practices " Professional: Knowledge production, staff development, and the status of educators " Personal: Self-awareness, development and identity " Political: Popular knowledge, difference, and frameworks for change This is a key resource for scholars and graduate students at doctors and masters levels, as well as school leaders and administrators. Susan Noffke is Associate Professor of Curriculum & Instruction at the University of Illinois - Urbana/Champaign and co-editor with R.B. Stevenson of Educational Action Research (Teachers College Press, 1995). She taught at the primary school level for a decade, and has led masters and doctoral level courses in action research for the past 20 years. She continues to work with many collaborative projects with schools and school districts. Bridget Somekh is Professor of Educational Research at Manchester Metropolitan University, UK. She is a founder editor of the Educational Action Research journal and has been a co-ordinator of the Collaborative Action Research Network (CARN) for many years. She is co-editor of Research Methods in the Social Sciences (SAGE: 2005) and author of Action Research: a Methodology for Change and Development (Open University Press: 2006).
Call Number: LB1028.24 .S3 2009 (Location-CYT)
Publication Date: 2013-06-21
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education by
In this second edition, twenty-nine classic chapters have been revised and updated and twenty new chapters have been added to reflect how the field has evolved since the first edition of the Handbook was published in 1995. This landmark volume describes and analyzes changes such as increased immigration to the United States and new developments in theory and research related to race, culture, ethnicity, and language. It addresses new issues such as findings on the increase in the number of interracial children and the characteristics of children of immigrant families. The educational implications of new research and trends are also discussed. The Handbooks forty-nine chapters are divided into twelve parts that clarify the meaning and boundaries of multicultural education. Topics covered include trends and developments, ethnic groups in historical and social science research, language issues, academic achievement, higher education, and international perspectives on multicultural education. The volume also offers comprehensive and balanced analyses of key controversies and debates in the field.
Call Number: LC1099.3 .H35 2004 (Location-Love)
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
Handbook of Early Childhood Education by
Comprehensive and authoritative, this forward-thinking book reviews the breadth of current knowledge about early education and identifies important priorities for practice and policy. Robert C. Pianta and his associates bring together foremost experts to examine what works in promoting all children's school readiness and social-emotional development in preschool and the primary grades. Exemplary programs, instructional practices, and professional development initiatives--and the systems needed to put them into place--are described. The volume presents cutting-edge findings on the family and social context of early education and explores ways to strengthen collaboration between professionals and parents.
Call Number: LB1139.25 .H343 2012 (Location-Love)
Publication Date: 2015-08-12
E-Book Collections- Locate Background Information on Your Topic
Three large e-book collections that provide seminal text, handbooks and other materials for background reading.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Large collection of e-books and journals in the social sciences, health and physical sciences and life sciences. Full-text and available for downloading to mobile devices.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on a variety of academic topics. (Full-Text)