The annotated bibliography consists of a list of citations with accompanying paragraphs that describe the relevance, accuracy and quality of the sources as they relate to the subject of the bibliography. The sources selected for the bibliography should give insight into the topic, offer a variety of perspectives, and contribute significantly to the discussion.
Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) has a great set of resources on citing sources in all the major citation styles.
The bibliography is formatted according to standard format styles and consists of three sections: (1) The introduction. (2) the Citations and (3)The Annotations and
The Introduction
This outlines the purpose and scope of the bibliography
All citations should follow a standard citation format (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.) and sources should be selected according to relevance and criteria informed by the research topic as described in the introduction. Using a Citation Management tool will help you to manage your sources. See the "Citation/Reference Management Tools" tab on this guide.
Online Resource
Purdue University "Research and Citation Resources “The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 10 Mar. 2013. Web. 10 Feb 2016. URL: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/section/2/
Books available at University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
The MLA Handbook gives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper.The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
APA Style Guide to Electronic References, Sixth Edition by
Adapted from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style.
It outlines the key elements to include when referencing electronic sources, with an emphasis on using the digital object identifier (DOI) to locate web-based information reliably. Most important, it provides a wealth of examples for readers to model for everything from online journal articles to supplemental data sets and measurement instruments to books, videos, apps, websites, podcasts, blog posts, and social media.
Cite Right by
This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition by
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
Scientific Style and Format by
Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields. The seventh edition of this useful resource has been fully updated and expanded to reflect changes in recommendations from authoritative international bodies. New chapters cover the responsibilities of authors, editors, and peer reviewers in scientific publication and discuss copyright requirements and practices. The chapters on books and journals provide advice pertinent to both electronic and print publication, and authoritative online resources are listed where available. Both American and British styles are covered. Everyone involved in scientific publishing should have the seventh edition of Scientific Style and Format on hand.
These are not only descriptive summaries (abstracts) of the sources but should also be evaluative and critical. It should give insight into the importance of the work, the author's views, what it contributes to the topic, how it compares with other text, etc. The type of annotation is dependent on the purpose and subject of the bibliography.
| The Structure | The Content (Select the most suitable elements for your purpose and topic) |
The Organization |
|||
|
|
|
Online
On Compiling an Annotated Bibliography by Set up an account to request the delivery of any book or article you may need for your assignments.