Subject and Course Guides: Diversity Libguide : Religion resources

Religious diversity

Religion and spirituality is a huge area of global diversity. There is no way to fit every aspect of religion into a single research guide! The resources below will help you get started, but you will be able to find lots more through searching the library catalog, databases, and the internet in general.

Link to full Religious Studies research guide

Library databases and ebooks

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays on topics of religion, including biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Full-Text and Index)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Spirituality, Religion, and Mental Health
- This link opens in a new window
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
- This link opens in a new window
Religion and Politics in America: An Encyclopedia of Church and State in American Life
- This link opens in a new window

Nebraska religion resources

Websites

American Atheists
Learn about atheism, defined as the absence of religion.
CIA World Factbook: Religions
Lists the major religious groups of each nation.
Godchecker: Your Guide to the Gods
Learn about deities from around the world.
HumanReligions.info
Articles on various religious topics. Includes a comparison chart of 81 world religions.
Listing of Official Denominational Web Sites
Links to websites for many different religions and denominations. From the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.
Pew Research Center: Religion & Public Life
"The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analysis and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world."
The Pluralism Project at Harvard University
"We document the contours of our multi-religious society, explore new forms of interfaith engagement, study the impact of religious diversity in civic life, and contextualize these findings within a global framework."
Virtual Religion Index
Links to resources on many different religious topics.
Wikipedia list of religions and spiritual traditions
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Read religious texts online

Bible Gateway
Read the Holy Bible online in various translations. (English and many other languages)
Book of Mormon
Read the Book of Mormon and other scriptures of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. (English and many other languages)
Buddhist Texts
From the Internet Sacred Text Archive.
ClearQuran
A contemporary English translation of the Quran.
Hindu Texts
From the Internet Sacred Text Archive.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
"This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."
Jewish Virtual Library
Read Jewish scriptures and learn about Jewish history, politics and culture. (English)
Quran.com
Read the Quran online in various translations. (English and many other languages)
Tao Te Ching
Read this Taoist text in Chinese and English.