Subject and Course Guides: Diversity Libguide : LGBTQIA resources

What does LGBTQIA mean?

LGBTQIA is one of several acronyms used to describe people who are not heterosexual and/or cisgender.

L=Lesbian
G=Gay
B=Bisexual
T=Transgender
Q=Queer/Questioning
I=Intersex
A=Asexual/Aromantic/Allies

This is often shorted to LGBT, LGBTQ, or LGBTQ+. Some of the identities that are considered to be "under the LGBTQ+ umbrella" but not included in common acronyms are Agender, Nonbinary, Pansexual, and Two Spirit. Other acronyms that are sometimes used are QUILTBAG and GSRM (Gender, Sexual, and Romantic Minorities).

Library databases & ebooks

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, magazines, newspapers, primary sources, and more, covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues. (Full-Text)
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, journal articles, conference papers, and more in the areas of gender studies gender inequality and identity, masculinity, feminism, sexism, and post-feminism. (Index)
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources focusing on LGBTQ history and associated social, political, health and legal issues. Includes newspapers, magazines, newsletters, manuscripts, correspondence, and more.

SciPop Talks! Resources on Gender Issues in Science
Docuseek2 LGBTQ Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Over 700 documentaries and other videos relating to LGBTQ studies.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
- This link opens in a new window
Trauma, Resilience, and Health Promotion in LGBT Patients
- This link opens in a new window

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and more during the latter half of the 20th century. (Full-Text)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, including LGBT presses, providing access to essential and often overlooked perspectives not found in other mainstream resources. (Full-Text)

Nebraska LGBTQ Resources

UNL LGBTQA+ Center
Located in Nebraska Union 346, the LGBTQA+ Center provides opportunities to learn, volunteer, socialize, and more!
UNL LGBTQA+ Center Resource List
LGBTQA+ Student Organizations at UNL
OutNebraska
Provides events, education, and resources for LGBTQ+ Nebraskans.
PFLAG Lincoln
Founded in 1973 as "Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays," PFLAG now supports people of all LGBTQ+ identities and their allies.
Transgender Resources from Nebraska Medicine
40 Years of History in the Heartland: UNL and Lincoln, Nebraska
A timeline of local LGBTQA history.

Specific LGBTQIA Identities

Websites

GLAAD
An organization working toward better media representation of LGBTQ people.
GLSEN
An organization working for LGBTQ student rights in K-12 schools.
Human Rights Campaign
An organization working toward full civil rights for LGBTQ people.
Intersex Society of North America
An organization advocating for the rights of intersex people and their families.
Lambda Legal
An organization working toward full civil rights for LGBTQ people.
National Center for Transgender Equality
An organization working to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people.
PFLAG
Founded in 1973 as "Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays," PFLAG now supports people of all LGBTQ+ identities and their allies.
The Trevor Project
An organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention to youth under age 25.
LGBTQ Organizations You Need to Know (Diversity Best Practices)
List of LGBT rights organizations in the United States (Wikipedia)

Books

This just a small fraction of our books! Search the library catalog for specific topics or titles.

Many books about sexuality and gender have call numbers beginning with HQ, which can be found on floors 1A and 2 in Love Library South.

Coming Out, Coming Home: Helping families adjust to a gay or lesbian child by Michael C. LaSala
Call Number: CYT HQ76.25 .L36 2010
ISBN: 9780231143820
The Invisible Orientation: An introduction to asexuality by Julie Sondra Decker
Call Number: LGBTQA Resource Center HQ23 .D43 2015
ISBN: 9781510700642
Also available as an ebook
Religious Freedom and Gay Rights by Timothy Shah (Editor); Thomas Farr (Editor); Jack Friedman (Editor)
Call Number: LOVE BL65.H64 R48 2016
ISBN: 9780190600600
Safe Spaces: Making schools and communities welcoming to LGBT youth by Annemarie Vaccaro; Gerri August; Megan S. Kennedy
Call Number: LOVE HQ76.27.Y68 V33 2012
ISBN: 9780313393686
Sex / Gender by Anne Fausto-Sterling
Call Number: LOVE HQ1075 .F387 2012
ISBN: 9780415881456
Transgender 101 by Nicholas M. Teich
Call Number: LOVE HQ77.9 .T45 2012
ISBN: 9780231157124