Subject and Course Guides: Political Science: Databases & Indexes

Online Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Legislative and executive documents from the first 14 U.S. Congresses. On the Newsbank platform. (Full-Text)
ProQuest Congressional: Legislative & Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
United States Congressional publications, including laws, bill tracking, legislative histories, and profiles of individual members and committees. Also includes executive branch documents from 1789-1932. (Full-Text)
EU Publications (European Union) This link opens in a new window
European Union publications from 1952-present. (Full-Text)

FDsys (formerly GPO Access)
Current laws, regulations, reports, data, and other information provided through the Government Printing Office, often in full text. Includes the Federal Register, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, United States Code, Economic Indicators, and GAO Reports.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal information including law periodicals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports of the Supreme Court, famous world trials, legal classics from the 16th to 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the Code of Federal Regulations from inception in 1938, and much more. (Full-Text)
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817 This link opens in a new window
Journals of the House of Representatives and Senate from 1789 to 1817, covering the first 14 Congresses of the United States. (Full-Text)
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Legal journals, books, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, and university publications published from 1981 to the present. (Index)
Index to Legal Periodicals: Retrospective 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Legal periodicals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, and university publications, covering 1908-1981. (Index)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal publications (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790), company information, and patents. (Full-Text)
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window
British and American legal treatises from 1800-1926, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other works from the most influential writers and key legal thinkers of the time. (Full-Text)
State Papers Online, 1509-1782 This link opens in a new window
British State Papers from the 16th to the 18th centuries, covering the Tudor, Stuart, and Commonwealth governments, and the reigns of George I, George II, and (partially) George III. (Full-Text)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, books, dissertations, and working papers from the international literature of political science and international relations. (Index)

Print Indexes

PAIS International in Print
Contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Coverage dates: 1991-2003
(Use "Request Delivery" button.)