Medieval and Renaissance Studies Resources: Useful Reference Resources
In this guide are listed some of the most important or most frequently consulted resources for Medieval and Renaissance Studies at University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Biographies of significant and influential figures who shaped British history. (Full-Text and Images)
Fairly brief, definitive biographies with short bibliographies. Also provides link to entries from the older Dictionary of National Biography (DNB Archive). The University Libraries also own print editions of the ODNB and the DNB; however, for the ODNB, the online version provides the most up-to-date version.
Definitions and pronunciations of current and historical meanings of English words and phrases.
Also available in print: LOVE Ref PE1625 .O87 1989 volumes 1-20 and supplements. For some words, the print version is not as current as the online version.
Although somewhat dated, it is still a useful guide. See especially the sections on Sources.
For General Medieval History--Collections of Sources, Handbooks--see pages 66-69.
Use the Table of Contents to identify the Sources sections for individual countries. Here are three examples:
Spain and Portugal--Collections of Sources--pages 126-127
Scandinavia--Collections of Sources--page 193
Islamic Civilization----Collections of Sources--pages 244-245
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
LOVE D114 .D5 1982 13 volume set, plus supplement
Also somewhat dated, but includes evaluative bibliographical commentary at end of each article.
LOVECB351 .R68
Each of the volumes includes signed articles and good bibliographies at end of the articles. You can use these to identify primary sources, as well as scholarly works on the topic. Some of the bibliographies separate Primary from Secondary sources.
vol. 1Medieval Scandinavia : an encyclopedia
vol. 2Medieval France : an encyclopedia
vol. 3Medieval England : an encyclopedia -- 1-23-2018 KJ took this to processing to transfer this from LOVE Ref into LOVE, so it can circulate.
vol. 4Medieval archaeology : an encyclopedia -- 1-23-2018 KJ took this to processing to transfer this from LOVE Ref into LOVE, so it can circulate.
vol. 5Trade, travel, and exploration in the Middle Ages : an encyclopedia
vol. 6Medieval Germany : an encyclopedia
vol. 7Medieval Jewish civilization : an encyclopedia
vol. 8Medieval Iberia : an encyclopedia
vol. 9See below--different call number
vol. 10Medieval Ireland : an encyclopedia
vol. 11Medieval science, technology, and medicine : an encyclopedia
vol. 12Medieval Islamic civilization : an encyclopedia
vol. 13Key figures in medieval Europe : an encyclopedia
vol. 14Women and gender in medieval Europe : an encyclopedia
LOVE DG443 .M43 2004 vol. 1 and vol. 2
vol. 9 Medieval Italy: an encyclopedia
vol. 1 A-K
vol. 2 L-X, Index
The Greenwood encyclopedia of global medieval life and culture
LOVE Ref CB351 .G743 2009 v.1 Library use only
LOVE Ref CB351 .G743 2009 v.2 Library use only
LOVE Ref CB351 .G743 2009 v.3 Library use only
Includes a section for each continent of Primary Documents, which provide excerpts and the sources.
See, for example, volume 1 "Primary Documents" for Europe, pages 149-176.
Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
Classical Tradition volumes
LOVE Ref DE5 .N4813 2002 classical trad. vols. 1-5 and Index
For example the article "Basilica" includes segments on Religious Architecture from AD 303, a section in the Early Christian Period and one on the Middle Ages. An extensive scholarly bibliography is included.
Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
Supplement volumes
LOVE Ref DE5 .N4813 2010 volume 4: The Reception of Myth and Mythology
For example, the article on "Heracles" (pages 323-340) provides the myth, the background in Greek literature and art, Latin literature and art, and then proceeds to Late Antiquity and Christianity, Middle Ages and Humanism, including Early and High Middle Ages and Late Middle Ages and Early Humanism. The article continues on into recent times. An extensive bibliography rounds out the article.
LOVE Ref DE5 .N4813 2010 volume 5: The Reception of Classical Literature
For example, the article on Ovid (pages 260-285) includes sections similar to those noted above. Extensive bibliographies follow the contents.
