Subject and Course Guides: Religious Studies: Islam

Quick Search

Quick Search is a keyword search for books, images, journal articles and more.

Library Essential Services

EResources

See all article indexes and other resources
Delivery/Interlibrary Loan
Free scanning and e-delivery of most articles and book chapters. 24 hour delivery of most items from University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries Locations
Citation Tools
Style guides and resources to help manage, format, and organize your research
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Faculty: Contact your subject librarian
Request custom Subject and Course Guides; link Guides to Canvas; arrange instruction

AskUs

ASKus - how to contact the Libraries

Islam -- Getting Started

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays on topics of religion, including biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Full-Text and Index)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and almanacs. (Full-Text)
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. (Full-Text)

Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd ed.
LOVE Ref DS37 E523
You can search online to see what articles are available in the 2nd edition, but you will need to use the print copy in LOVE Ref unless you pay Brill for online access. Use the Get Access link on this page.
Encyclopaedia of Islam : Three
LOVE Ref DS35.53 E535
This the the third edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam and volumes are still being published. In Love Library, print issues from 2007 into 2014 are housed in LOVE Ref DS35.53 .E535. Beware that within each volume, you may have articles from different parts of the alphabet. Once the entire encyclopedia has been completed, a single alphabetized print version will be produced. Better yet, If you are willing to spend a few dollars, you can buy access for one day to the entire online encyclopedia. Use the Get Access link on this page.
Islam : a very short introduction
LOVE BP161.2 .R86 2012
Islam: the basics
Available online.
Islam : the essentials
LOVE BP161.3 .R36 2017
Islam : the key concepts
Available online.
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world
LOVE Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009

Index Islamicus

About Index Islamicus

"Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Rightly described as 'an indispensable tool for libraries, graduates and undergraduates alike'. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense."

Important: You can buy access for one, seven, or thirty days to Index Islamicus for a reasonable fee.

If you prefer to browse the print volumes, the UNL Libraries have 1906-1985, but no more recent print volumes.

Index Islamicus, 1906-1955
LDRF BP161.2 .I52
Index Islamicus supplement, 1956-1976
LDRF BP161.2 .I52 sup.
Index Islamicus : 1976-1980
LDRF BP161.2 .I52 1983
Index Islamicus 1981-1985
LDRF BP161.2 .I52 1991

Selected Web Sites

LibGuides from other universities will suggest numerous additional resources, some of which are available at the UNL Libraries or through interlibrary loan.