Skip to main content

Civil Engineering

Literature searching for graduate students in Civil Engineering Programs

Vision for Civil Engineering

UNL Libraries resources

Finding journal articles and proceedings papers:

Primary Engineering Databases

Compendex  Journal articles and conference proceedings covering all areas of engineering. (Full-Text and Index)

Compendex Quick Search Tutorial

Compendex Record Tutorial

Compendex Results Tutorial

ASCE Library   American Society of Civil Engineers. Journals, books, standards, and conference proceedings relating to civil engineering. (Full-Text)

IEEE Xplore  Institute ot Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Journal articles, proceedings, and standards on the topics of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. 

ASTM Compass American Society for Testing and Materials. Engineering journals, manuals, technical papers, conference proceedings, and more. (Full-Text)

Web of Science Journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. (Index)

Scopus  Scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patent records covering the fields of science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. (Full-Text)

SciFinder Scholar To access SciFinder, you must be on campus and use your university email address to create the account. Once your account is created, you may access SciFinder from anywhere using the authenticated link on the Libraries’ website. SciFinder Scholar provides access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Included are several chemical abstracts databases such as CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. You are able to search by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, chemical structure, formula, and CAS abstract number.

Complete Lists of Engineering Specific Databases

General databases:

  • Academic Search Premier Contains articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
  • JStor Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
  • Google Scholar Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)

Further Resources

Dissertations Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. Contains both abstracts and full text.

Patents 

Technical Reports

Tracking your research

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com