Subject and Course Guides: Women's History Month: Magazines

Women's Magazines: Location and Access

Brides Magazine (formerly Bride's)

Brides (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2008-2019.
Brides.com

Cosmopolitan (formerly The Cosmopolitan)

The Cosmopolitan (Print)
Complete issues from 1886-1916. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
The Cosmopolitan (on microfilm)
Digital surrogates from 1886-1925. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
The Cosmopolitan (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1886-1924.
Cosmopolitan (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1996-present; citations only, 1989-1995.
The Cosmopolitan (via ProQuest)
Full-text articles, 1886-1907.
Cosmopolitan UK (via Nexis Uni)
Full-text articles, 2011-present.
Cosmopolitan.com

The Delineator (formerly The Metropolitan Monthly)

The Delineator (in print)
Complete issues from 1924-1937. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.

Ebony

Ebony (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1945-present.
Ebony.com

Elle

Elle.com
Worldwide lifestyle magazine of French origin that focuses on fashion, beauty, health and entertainment.

Esquire

Esquire (in print)
Complete issues from 1933-2009. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Esquire (on microfilm)
Digital surrogates from 1960-1997. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Esquire (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates for most issues from 1933-1995.
Esquire (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1996-present; citations only, 1984-1995.
Esquire.com

Essence

Essence (in print)
Complete issues from 1976-1981. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Essence (via ProQuest)
Full Text. PDF. 1988-present
Essence (EBSCO Masterfile Complete)
Full Text. PDF from 1984-1920.
Essence.com

GQ (formerly Gentleman's Quarterly and Apparel Arts)

GQ (in print)
Full issues from 1978-1999. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
GQ (on microfilm)
Digital surrogates from 1957-1977. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
GQ (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1959-1969.
Apparel Arts (on microfilm)
Digital surrogates from 1931-1957. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
GQ (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2008-present; citations only, 1989-2007.
GQ.com

Glamour (formerly Glamour of Hollywood)

Glamour (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2008-present; citations only, 1989-2007.
Glamour.com

Godey's Lady's Book

Intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America (1830-1895).

Godey's Lady's Book (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates for selected issues from 1830-1895.
Godey's Lady's Book (via Accessible Archives)
Digital surrogates from 1830-1898.

Good Housekeeping

Good Housekeeping (in print)
Complete issues from 1885-2008. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Good Housekeeping (via Home Economics Archive)
Digital surrogates from 1885-1950.
Good Housekeeping (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1885-1985 and 2001-2009.
Good Housekeeping (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1996-present; citations only, 1984-1995.
GoodHousekeeping.com

Harper's Bazaar (formerly Harper's Bazar)

Harper's Bazaar (in print)
Complete issues from 1927-present. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Harper's Bazaar (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1870-1972 and 2007-2011.
Harper's Bazaar (via ProQuest)
Digital surrogates from 1867-1912.
Harper's Bazaar (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1999-present; citations only, 1989-1998.
HarpersBazaar.com

Harper's Weekly

Harper's Weekly (via HarpWeek)
Digital surrogate of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912 as scanned images. Browse by date or literary genre. Searches can be done by occupation or role in society, or by searching any combination of four indexes: subject; illustrations; literature and publishing; advertising

House Beautiful

House Beautiful (in print)
Complete issues from 1896-2019. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
House Beautiful (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates for most issues from 1896-2006.
House Beautiful (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1999-present; citations only, 1984-1998.
House Beautiful UK (via Nexis Uni)
Full-text articles, 2011-present.
HouseBeautiful.com

Ladies' Home Journal (formerly The Ladies Home Journal and Practical Housekeeper)

A conservative voice for the role of women in society, featuring beauty and fashion tips, relationship advice, and domestic advice. The magazine has been continuously published since 1883 and has the longest running magazine column, entitled "Can this marriage be saved?" Some issues of this resource are freely available online through Harvard's Collections Program.

Ladies' Home Journal (in print)
Complete issues from 1889-2009. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Ladies' Home Journal (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1889-1963 and 2003-2010.
Ladies' Home Journal (via ProQuest)
Digital surrogates from 1889-1907.
The Ladies Home Journal and Practical Housekeeper (via ProQuest)
Digital surrogates from 1884-1889.

Latina Magazine

Latina.com

McCall's

McCall's (in print)
Complete issues from 1917-1999. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
McCall's (on microfilm)
Complete issues from 1960-1992. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
McCall's (Available through HathiTrust)
Digital surrogate. Complete issues from 1926-2001.

Mademoiselle

Mademoiselle (in print)
Complete issues from 1939-1992. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Mademoiselle (on microfilm)
Digital surrogates from 1967-1979. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Mademoiselle (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1949-50, 1961-64, 1972-80, and 1982-2001.

More

More.com

Ms.

Ms. (in print)
Complete issues from 1973-1998. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan. UNL Women's Center owns issues through 2013.
Ms. (via HathiTrust)
Digital surrogates from 1972-1989.
MsMagazine.com

Redbook (formerly The Red Book Illustrated and The Red Book Magazine)

Redbook (in print)
Complete issues from 1974-1998. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Redbook (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 1996-2018; citations only, 1989-1995.
RedbookMag.com

Seventeen Magazine

Seventeen (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2007-2018.
Seventeen.com

Teen Vogue

Teen Vogue (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2007-2017.
TeenVogue.com

Vanity Fair

Vanity Fair (in print)
Complete issues from 1919-1935. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Vanity Fair (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2005-present; citations only, 1992-2004.
VanityFair.com

Vogue

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital surrogates from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, Every page, advertisement, cover, and fold-out is included. Search for images by garment type, designer, and brand names.

Vogue (in print)
Complete issues from 1913-2014. Request article scans through Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.
Vogue (via EBSCO)
Full-text articles, 2007-present; citations only, 1984-2006.
Vogue.com

Women's Wear Daily

Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily (also known as WWD) is a fashion-industry trade journal sometimes called "the bible of fashion". It provides information and intelligence on changing trends and breaking news in the men and women's fashion, beauty and retail industries.